We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub”
Review of The Black Lion

The Black Lion
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Lion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,829 of 24,667 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to have fish and chips or evening BBQ. Friendly staff, sit out the back in the garden, Camden later and ale on draft.

Thank LouisePittDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Louise, thanks for your lovely review! The beer garden is in full swing now and we're hoping for an extra little makeover soon, so watch this space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called up to change my booking to delay by an hour. They didn’t do this so I lost my table. They brought one in from the garden luckily, but we were practically sat in the kitchen by the till. Not really on when I had such a simple request and they confirmed it on the phone. Wouldn’t book a table here again. OH - and their card machines didn’t work either so everyone had to go and get cash out, and you had to queue for 10 mins to find that out!!

Thank ben1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Ben, I'm sorry again for the error with your booking. It was a busy day and unfortunately a breakdown in communication caused this error. The table we brought in for you is normally a part of our restaurant, located in the same spot and every effort was made to ensure you were happy with the arrangement. We deal with a lot of reservation requests and have very few mistakes, if you were to book with us again (which we hope you do) I can assure you that you'll experience the great service we pride ourselves on.

Regarding the card machines they did unfortunately drop out near kick off therefore we had very little time to communicate this issue. We were in luck in that we had a technician on site at the moment it happened who resolved the issue as quickly as possible, we apologise to all for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great service and food! Fun Pub. Staff was really friendly. We were in the garden and there were constantly check up on us. After 10 pm we were invited to go indoors. Great music! We danced!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you, Maria! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the beer garden and even more than music - you can get involved with the tunes using Secret DJ too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were stopping nearby for a Wembley concert and popped in here for our pre-concert dinner. So glad we did the service, drinks and food was excellent. We even managed a drink after the concert as well!

Thank Matt and Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks Matt and Teresa, we're glad to be part of your Wembley experience! Hopefully see you next time you're around again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I don’t normally write reviews but the meal I had and service by Iona was second to none. Will be going again and recommending to my friends.

1  Thank JimmyElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Jimmy! We appreciate you coming on here to share your great experience and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Lion also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing