We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$156
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$156
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$145
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
610
369
125
55
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
610
369
125
55
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house dinner bed and breakfast lovely hotel on arrival lots of character four poster one night stay the ground floor short drive park and ride beautiful room plenty of choice relaxing break underfloor heating kippers enjoyable stay night break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Booked very last minute (half an hour before arrival) and got a very good deal. For the price, the place was good. However, looking at the establishment and what was offered, as a whole I was not overly impressed.

We were given the outside room, someone else has referred to it as 'the Den'. It is a self-contained unit with own bathroom, kitchen, lounge and bedroom. not fully self-catering but certainly lots of room. And very nicely kitted out. Also, lots of tea, coffee and milk etc provided.

Probably some 5 years ago it would have been glorious. However, it all seems to have become a bit tired by now. There is evidence of water leakage in the ceiling, damp and covered-over mould in the bathroom around the bath and at the windows, bathroom tap sticking and so won't turn off, kitchen door catches on the tiled floor. Also, the cleaning seems to have been 'rushed'. Dirt in the bathroom extractor fan, dust along all the skirtings, dust in the bath. The mattress on the bed felt cheap.

No wi-fi at all in the room. Only a couple of terrestrial channels on the tv. Surely a Freeview box and a wi-fi booster wouldn't have costed too much? This meant that the usual relax in the room wasn't possible.

Aside from the above, the main house (public areas) are lovely. Newly renovated (I assume) bar area with panelled walls and plush leather seating. Good wi-fi in here. The library / lounge also is magnificent with it's inglenook fireplace and stained glass window. Breakfast room, large and also cleanly decorated.

Breakfast was very nice & plentiful

Note to the management: if my experience and our room is not a true representation of the property as a whole I'd suggest that you keep it empty until it is up to scratch. It is letting the place down, I feel.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GoDaddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

On the outside it looks great but it is lacking attention to detail.

The bed looks great but is extremely uncomfortable. The TV Freeview signal works only intermittently if you are lucky. Water pressure in the shower is a joke. It took 20 minutes to rinse my hair. The Wifi signal is sketchy. No lift and no help carrying the luggage upstairs.

The gardens are pretty and access to Whitby is handy. Food good but limited choice. Staff in restaurant very nice.

But not the service you expect when booking a luxury room.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 617kirstenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

Dual purpose reason for visit one, a welcome cup of tea and a scone after an indifferent fish and chip lunch at the sea side secondly , to continue our search for a hotel to provide we oldies with a "certain" level of comfort we long remember.
Using disable parking and, ramp leading to reception, we met a lady who indicated whilst the hotel could not accommodate our wishes as they only serve breakfast and dinner, she intimated a small cafe further on, would.
Further discussion regarding accommodation confirmed, ground floor rooms rooms were available for the less able but, as the package encompassed a three course dinner menu which we find too consuming, regrettably we were forced to concede our search must continue.
P.S. Many thanks, tea and scones at the small cafe were most acceptable

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay mid July in the main house, there is more accommodation within the grounds. Set in a quiet location. We had drinks on the terrace and on the lawn everywhere inside and out is well maintained. Our (Standard) room had a sea view looking down the drive (Room 7) new bathroom but the bedroom area needed updating. The Restaurant serve a 3 course meal for two at a set price of £45 the food is really good but be aware that certain chooses on the menu come with a supplement (each) ie extra for prawn cocktail and the steak came with a supplement of £10 each. Staff friendly and very helpful if you want any information.
Nice location for visiting surrounding areas. If you are going into Whitby we would recommend that you use the park and ride which is only 5 minutes down the road and cost £2.50 each for all day if you want as parking in Whitby can be a nightmare if you are not there early morning and costs a lot more for just a couple of hours. We also used the Scarborough park and ride which was also very good. Be aware that a lot of the car parks are by card payment only.
We did feel like Dunsley hall was like an adults only hotel which we love, but it’s not and that became apparent when a group arrived with children and we were glad it was our last night.
If there is anything further you would like to know please ask.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catlover1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

The Hall is situated in a very quiet village, with only a few residents. The Hall itself is very pleasing to the eye. Excellent Covid practices, such as face coverings and hand sanitisers dotted about. Room was in top floor, but very comfortable, large bed and bathroom with shower. Breakfast service was excellent and we booked an evening meal and was pleasantly surprised with the quality, so much so that we booked for a last evening and we normally only have one meal in any hotel as we like to venture out. The bar was very cosy and quiet. The staff were very lovely and friendly always a smile. I only have one little negative, the shower stall really needed a deep clean, but other than that we were extremely happy with everything, we are even going back there in August with friends, hope it lives up to our review.

Room tip: Top level rooms are very roomy, but windows smaller and not all have great views.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waplingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews