We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer and sharing platter”
Review of Valhalla York

Valhalla York
Ranked #78 of 937 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Description: Valhalla York is an independent rock pub just off the Shambles serving up ales, mead, rock music aplenty and meat & cheese platters. We are passionate about what we do. We have our own Valhalla Ales and even our own unique Valhalla coffee which has been roasted to our own style.
Restaurant details
Description: Valhalla York is an independent rock pub just off the Shambles serving up ales, mead, rock music aplenty and meat & cheese platters. We are passionate about what we do. We have our own Valhalla Ales and even our own unique Valhalla coffee which has been roasted to our own style.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Really nice old style pub with loads of history, great beers and nice sharing platters. Good attentive, knowledgeable staff.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank phila959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Been coming to York for years & never visited this bar - a friend recommended it so finally went in yesterday- what have we been missing all this time!!
Fantastic bar staff - her enthusiasm & friendliness was spot on - great decor - excellent music and perfect all round vibe - table next to us had a THOR PLATTER which looked epic and they said it was superb
Got to try a new gin …. Will try mead next time
Definitely be back - thanks Valhalla & brilliant team…..

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ILUVITALY_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt, Owner at Valhalla York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Thanks so much for the great review! Hope
To see you again. Until Valhalla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Visited 3 times as such fantastic platters, staff were great, attentive & nothing was too much trouble, who knew mead was so nice. Can recommend.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Joearlam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt, Owner at Valhalla York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thanks very much for the awesome review Joe! Really glad you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

I’d heard about this place from a colleague and was not disappointed! From the second you enter you are immersed in a Viking environment, from the decor, shields and runes engraved in the woodwork, for a small place there is so much to feast your eyes on. The food menu is exactly what you want from a place like this and there is a perfect drinks menu too. No where better to go for a mead after Lindesfarne itself perhaps. The staff were really friendly and knowledgeable about the runes. Only bad thing is that we didn’t have time to go twice! We will definitely be visiting again as soon as we can.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank louisebW5748JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt, Owner at Valhalla York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you very much for the kind review Louise. Hope
To see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2021

Was expecting much more.
Not a bad drinks choice but thought it was grubby and the toilets need a good clean.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank D7688IFdeanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt, Owner at Valhalla York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Hi there, so sorry the place wasn’t as you’d expect to find it! We’ll speak to the staff to ensure the toilets are regularly checked. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valhalla York also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Valhalla York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.