We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
19
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2015

It had been a long time since we had been to York, so we dug out some old info from a draw and found a leaflet for Bull Lodge from 20 years ago.
We booked it, a bit dearer than decades ago, but when we arrived, we remembered why we liked it so long ago. It is still run by the same people and to be honest, looks how we remembered it.
Very clean and homely, but must say if there were 3 car drivers staying, parking would be a bit of a squeeze.
We had 2 comfy quiet nights sleep with a good filling breakfast each morning.
Roy was very helpful, let us park up before our room was ready, so we could walk round the city. He also printed a map so we could find The York Cold War Bunker.
Very handy for the city, about a 10 minute walk, with plenty of pubs on the way.
We look forward to staying again in Twenty years time.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Clean accommodation, knowledgeable host, and very 'hot' breakfast. decor and furniture a little dated. our only gripe was the en-suite was quite compact. car parking provided but a little tricky if you have a large car. we walked into town centre in about 10 mins, but there may be a bus runs by, perfect stay for the two nights we were there.
small suggestion - self closing door fitted to shared toilet, arriving home one evening someone had used the bathroom and left door open, which was obvious as soon as we came through front door.

Room Tip: due to the location of this house it was very quiet, we had a double room with en-suite, which suited our needs for the time of our stay.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deezyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We had a lovely weekend in york staying at this guest house, we found it to be spotlessly clean, we had a freshly cooked breakfast which was lovely and the people that owned it were friendly, could not be faulted, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Looking up old emails, I discovered that I have been staying at Bull Lodge for a week to ten days in July for the past eight years, and for a few days most years in early December, so Roy and Dennis are clearly doing things right.

Others have praised the cleanliness throughout, the excellent breakfasts, the free WiFi, the free parking, the easy access to central York and elsewhere. I will simply point out that I find the large and ancient stand-alone wardrobe and chest-of-drawers unit in the single bedroom ideal for holding ten days' worth of clothing. On its flat top can be placed quantities of medicines, plastic containers, and the like. Adequate storage space seems often not to be considered by bed-and-breakfast establishments, so it is pleasant to have adequate amounts available at Bull Lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tallisite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is our third visit to Bull Lodge we have found Roy and Dennis very welcoming hosts the rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are ample and well cooked. definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews