We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sycamore Guest House
Ranked #90 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2016

An ideal guest house perfectly situated to the main attractions in York, with a lovely walk through the museum gardens, or along the river bank to get to the centre. The hosts of the guest house are very friendly, helpful,obliging, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and tidy with an enormous double bed, and the en-suite facility was immaculate with all the necessary facilities. The only drawback was, it was rather small and cramped for space, with the ablution right next to the shower. The breakfast is amazing, no faults with that.

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2016

It was quite difficult to do this review as there were many positives to this place and clearly York is struggling to get back on it's feet after the winter floods so business is hard. However I have to give a mixed review for the Sycamore. We arrived and received a really warm friendly welcome from Spyros, who was a really nice, funny guy. His wife also was very friendly in a genuine way. We stayed in Room 1 which had two other rooms directly above it. It was very noticeable that the decor was dated and needed a freshen up. For me that wasn't a problem although my wife was less forgiving. The bathroom was quite small and the toilet and shower cramped which wasn't helped by a poor extractor fan. The water pressure in the shower was at best below par and the temperature would frequently go from hot to freezing. The bathroom facilities and state of the decor have made me rate the place a lot lower than I otherwise would have. The bed was big and comfy, the breakfast was absolutely fine - help yourself to fruit, cereal and yogurts as well as a traditional oven cooked, non-greasy English cooked to order and decent coffee too. The location was excellent, lovely five minute walk through museum gardens to main centre. The parking at £2 a day is great value. Let me be clear this is a nice BnB if you like something old fashioned BUT the bathroom facilities and appearance are important and these were not great, especially for the price.

Stayed: April 2016
2  Thank Notdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

A fantastic find.
Very friendly quiet guest house. Fabulous cooked breakfast made even better served with a smile.
The location is perfect for the station and walking through beautiful museum gardens into York.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

The owners were very helpful and obliging. The large bed was comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have had: non-greasy, hot and well cooked. Good supply of tea and coffee, also sweets and a packet of biscuits. The toilet in the ensuite is in a corner by the shower but this did not cause any problems. Easy walk to city centre, either along the roads or through attractive gardens. We would consider staying here again if in York in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Couple-Tadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

A mixed review for the Sycamore.

We arrived and received a really warm friendly welcome from Spyros, who was a really funny guy, absolute character. We were way earlier than check in so went out for the day and returned at 5ish.

We were welcomed back and shown to our room on the top floor (room 6). Couldn't help but notice the dated nature of the decor. For me that wasn't a problem I actually felt it fitted in nicely with the feel of York but it could be an issue for some people.

Now here is the problem - In the room the ensuite was nothing short of awful. The shower and toilet were in such close proximity that you could probably have had a shower and use the loo at the same time, you couldn't really shut the door properly when sat on the toilet it was that small. The water pressure in the shower was at best below par and the temperature would frequently go from hot to freezing. The hand basin was in the room which isn't great. The bathroom facilities of the room have essentially made me rate the place a lot lower than I otherwise would have. The bed was comfy with a lovely feather duvet and pillows.

The breakfast was absolutely fine - help yourself to fruit, cereal and yogurts as well as a traditional fry up to order. decent coffee too.

The location was excellent, lovely five minute walk through museum gardens to main centre. The parking at £2 a day is great value.

Let me be clear this is a nice BnB if you like something old fashioned BUT the bathroom facilities are important and they were really poor.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Fraserpealing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
11.4 km away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
4.2 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
11.2 km away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sycamore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sycamore Guest House

Address: 19 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $132 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sycamore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian town-house, built around 1904, is a small family-run guest house in York. It is a 5-minute walk through the Museum Gardens to the Minster and city centre. The rooms feature tea and coffee making facilities, a flat-screen TV and free WiFi. Every morning, guests will enjoy a selection of breakfast options including full English breakfast. The Sycamore Guest House is 10 minutes' walk or a short taxi ride from York Railway Station with its excellent rail links to the rest of England. The guest house also offers guaranteed on-street parking opposite the house at the end of the cul-de-sac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sycamore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing