We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Ask Pam George (Owner) for anything and she will do it. Good location and a short walk to York City centre passing by the brilliant York Rail Museum. Breakfast is hot, good and enough for the day.
(If you want something different try the local pub a few doors away ,its like Coronation street on a bad day).
Have been to Apple house twice and always a good welcome from Pan and Husband and she will always allow you lo leave car at a rear car park if you want to leave early.
A good B & B

Room Tip: Bus stop outside (Use instead of Taxis)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_Lavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 542 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed 9/10th Dec with husband and 3.5 year old daughter. Great location and large car park to the rear.
Nothing but praise for the Apple House very clean and comfortable room, slept well on both night can only hear the trains fainty now and again as property is double glazed.
Good breakfast freshly cooked - choice of cereals etc.
There were books and games for children and they had guinea pigs in the garden

We only met Pam during our stay and she was lovely.
We will visit again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PXR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed here on a friends recommendation. This B & B is in a good location for visiting York as is walking distance from the centre (about 10 mins). It has ample off road, rear parking which is free.
The rooms are on suite and spacious and the owner was very pleasant and helpful. The only thing that let it down was that the room really needed to be cleaned. On arrival, the toilet was dirty, two of the pillows didn't have covers and had hair on them and the bathroom lights (two of them) didn't work. It was a bit of a bad first impression. However, i'd like to think that it may have been due due to my late booking, giving them the benefit of the doubt. The plus points did out weight the bad, but it would put me off saying again....sorry!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarlicBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

I am so sorry your impression of The Apple House was a bad one. There is no excuse for us not checking the lightbulbs or pillow slips not being on the pillows. Out chambermaids at that time should have been more efficient in their servicing of the room. I am sorry for the dirty loo - it had been cleaned although I had let a small child and his mum use the facilities after they returned to collect their car and I should have ensured they had left it clean. Many apologies for your disappointing stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My son and I stayed here for 4 nights in August. The location was ideal- 10 minutes walk to the railway station and a short walk to the old part of York. Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfasts were ample, with friendly staff. Pam, the owner, is very helpful, despite the demands of a sometimes busy guesthouse. Pam let my cousin park his car in the car park at the rear and we toured the city centre with him and his family. (old York is just a short walk from the B&B- another bonus. ) We would definitely stay here again.
Chris Pygott
Canada

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atticus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife, daughter Georgia and myself stayed at the Apple House for two nights and really enjoyed it the breakfast choice was excellent with cereals, yoghurts and a large cooked breakfast the room was cosy the beds comfortable and the car park was very large and Pam is a lovely hostThe apple House is just about the right distance from York the trains do run quite close to the back of the B+B but we were not disturbed by any noise.To sum up we would recommend the Apple House as a good alternative to staying in one of the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.6 km away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
709 reviews
0.2 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,472 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#17 of 194 in York
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
891 reviews
0.4 km away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.1 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $123 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing