We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Pub With Gruesome Past.”
Review of Blue Boar

Blue Boar
Ranked #27 of 149 Quick Bites in York
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Blue Boar on Castlegate is an historic pub in York that offers a fantastic food and drinks menu and has a gruesome history.
The Blue Boar was known as the Little John but it changed it's name after being re-opened after a closure a few years ago.
When Dick Turpin was executed in 1739 on Tyburn Gallows his body was displayed in this pub.There are many interesting fixtures and features in this pub and the downstairs area of the Blue Boar has an amazing interior that relates to Dick Turpin.
When we visited here we had been to a couple of amazing pub's and this pub was as good as all of the other pubs we visited'on entry we gave all our track and trace details and took our seat.
As it's table service only one of the staff took our order of a couple of glasses of Landlord ale from the Timothy Taylor's brewery'the beers were well served and well priced.The Blue Boar is a superb pub with bags of character and atmospheric and is well worth visiting.(This is my first review of the Blue Boar).
Opening Hours.
Monday-Thursday-11.30-23.00.
Friday-Saturday-11.30-00.00.
Sunday-11.30-23.00.
Hours May Differ From Above Due To The Covid 19 Restrictions Which End On The 19th Of July.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank StephenKelly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow what a lovely bar, dog friendly the staff are very friendly they brought my dog out some water, good selection of ales highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank D9763EKjohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Totally disgusted how the chef and manager spoke to the staff( young lad) chef came to our table with a bowl of chips,when we said it was'nt ours,he went on to say how he was ffing useless,then had a go a us at the top of his voice swearing staff are lovely, manager and chef totally out of order,will not go back !!!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 553cathf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellence in customer service!!

‘Do you sell cakes?’’

‘No, sorry, but you can have one of mine I brought into work!’’

Kayleigh, thank you….

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank H16KSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walked into this establishment due to a one hour wait for the Viking museum.
Wonderful place. Clean warm pleasant. The three girls serving were first class friendly helpful and funny a tremendous welcome for a couple of passing strangers. Great pint of Timothy Taylor landlord. Recommend you to pop in when you get chance

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank Jet57560211200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Boar also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.