We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lighthorseman
Nearby Hotels
US$233
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$175
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$76
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
US$117
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
85
79
28
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
79
28
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbigger bedposter roomwalk along the riveraround midnightbe returning in the futureselection of beersmin walkfour postercoffee making facilitiesfull englishbarbican centrenext morninglate checkclean bathroomstayed here for one nightcar park
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Clean hotel, comfortable quiet room with four poster bed and ensuite. Staff friendly and helpful and bar area warm and welcoming. Nice beer garden and ample parking which we took advantage of for the two days we were there. The only drawback is the check in - it's not till 4pm. Somewhat naively I thought there would be someone there before 4 so we could let them know we had parked the car before we went into town but there was no one at the premises and although I phoned several times no one answered. I figure it was their day off but it was a little odd being locked out until 4pm.
I would go again to this accommodation which is in a great location but I'd make sure it wasn't until later in the day.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Lighthorseman B&B/inn/pub.

The owner Dan was very welcoming upon our arrival, giving us a set of keys for all locks necessary and showing us to the room.

We stayed in the four post bedroom which was spacious and had plenty of storage space for clothes/jackets etc.

The Bathroom was ok, relatively clean, shower was hot, but could not open the window as was fixed closed- slightly inconvenient.

The pub is 15 minutes walk max to the city centre (Piccadilly) and therefore we would recommend the location of the Lighthorseman. There is a lovely walk along the river over a footbridge that you can take if you fancy the more scenic route.

There is a good menu to choose from for dinner - which we tried on our first night. We both went for the burger with sweet potato chips (ran out of regular chips) and we were both pleased with our food.

Breakfast was equally as enjoyable. We had breakfast all three mornings that we were there. A good spread of continental and a fry up there if you would like it.




Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

After reading many good reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked through Expedia well in advance. 4pm is a late check in, but we were allowed to park our car (phoned before we arrived) and walked into York for the afternoon. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady, who explained the wi-fi, as well as the keys and access via the side door. The room was clean and well presented with complimentary soap, nice towels and tea, coffee etc.. We booked a twin room, and we were given room 6. It was a good size with a high ceiling, non smoking, and the beds were comfortable..
There was very little noise from the bar but some traffic noise from the main road, (the room faces the road), however, this tended to fade after about 10.30pm and did not have any effect on our sleep.
Parking in York is not easy, but the Lighthorseman is well situated, only 0.3 miles from the city walls, (Postern Gate), and another 0.3 miles to the city centre, along Picadilly, It is about a 12-15 minute walk to the shambles. The parallel walk along the river can be easily accessed from the back of the hotel. Buses (no 7) run to the Designer Outlet and return into town (Railway station etc) every 10 minutes and stop a few yards down the road.
The large car park is thus a fabulous bonus in an area with very limited on street parking.
Breakfast was available, but not on our first morning, so we tried Wetherspoons (Postern Gate) and mainly ate there for the rest of our stay.
The Lighthorseman is excellent accommodation and fabulous value for money, when we next return to York, we will certainly book again.
Stayed 3 nights, September 19-22nd.

Room Tip: Rooms 3-7 face the road. Rooms 1,2 and 8 overlook the car park.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Lovely characterful pub retaining many original features. We had the four poster room which was nicely sized, light and airy thanks to four windows and the highest ceiling I've ever seen in a room!
A very pleasant 10 minute walk along the riverbank takes you right into the centre of York. You certainly wouldn't need your car at all.
There was no food available when we stayed which I was informed was only temporary. Some people have commented about the road noise and noise from the bar. It's an old pub with single glazing next to a busy road. If you're a light sleeper who wants peace and quiet after 9 o'clock it's not for you. We had no problem with it and will be staying again in future.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Just what we wanted, Modern decor, lovely Four Poster Bed ( If a bit creaky). Good quality bedding and furniture. Most importantly nice & clean. Good shower, toiletries provided. Plenty of tea, coffee, nice biscuits too.

Would stay again.

Thank you

Julia

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews