We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking pub”
Review of Lighthorseman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthorseman
Ranked #87 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This is a very good pub serving a good selection of beers mostly by Thwaites.Nice bar & friendly staff & we have stayed there in the past which is also good. We will be returning on our next visit to York.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rarmstrong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stayed here a couple of times now and enjoyed both trips, room was large and bathroom was a good size too and very clean and tidy. Some noise from downstairs in the evenings but thats to be expected when staying in a pub.
Staff were pleasant in particular Megan was great and really helpful.
The food served downstairs is amazing!
We will certainly stay here again whenever we vist York

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maniastreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Having read all the positive reviews I was confident about booking our stay here. However, on the first night we were kept up until around midnight by a bunch of very loud and roudy men directly below us in the pool room. The following night was fine, but this seems to be a risk you will be taking staying above the pub.
The room was clean and airy with tea and coffee provided. It had a lovely large window and let a lot of light in. On the downside the toilet was very outdated and the shower was weak and of an inconsistent temperature!
One day we had the breakfast which was good. We were offered cereals, fruit and a fully cooked English with as much tea or coffee as was desired.
Overall not bad for a cheap stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank newfoundgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

The Lighthorseman Inn is in a great location. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk along the river to town.
The inn is and old building with lots of history as you would expect in York. Our double ensuite room was clean and comfortable. A couple of minor complaints that I had, (window jammed shut, no bed side light, poor wi-fi) were dealt with promptly and with friendly service by Megan, when I brought them to her attention.
We really enjoyed our stay here, and I would happily recommend The Lighthorseman.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived on Thursday afternoon and were taken straightaway to our room which was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, there was decent wifi and tv with plenty of channels. The cooked breakfast was pretty good and plentiful with plenty of toast. The hotel was very handy as it was only a short walk from the centre of York, you could also walk down by the side of the river which was very pleasant. If I had a complaint it would be that the towels were on the small side and were not changed. Apart from this we enjoyed our stay, the staff were very nice. Quite surprised that they closed the bar at 11pm on the dot though even to residents of the hotel although that didn't bother us much. On the plus side though there is parking in the pub car park which is very handy in a place like York!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank calisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.2 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#41 of 47 in York
2,003 reviews
1.8 km away
No photo provided
0.7 km away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#56 of 194 in York
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#34 of 194 in York
55 reviews
1 km away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#16 of 194 in York
743 reviews
1.6 km away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#101 of 194 in York
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthorseman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthorseman

Address: 124 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: S$88 - S$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthorseman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lighthorseman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthorseman Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing