We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lottsa
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great location”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful stay at Gillygate Central. The apartment is so close to everything. Having a garage is excellent. We could leave the car there and walk or bus everywhere we wanted to go. York Minster is just 5 minutes walk away. Lynne is very welcoming and gave us lots of useful local information. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She is a wonderful hostess. The apartment is very clean, comfy beds, fluffy towels, nice welcome pack. Sainsbury Local is just around the corner. Have enjoyed walking on the city wall - easy access just 2 minutes walk, railway museum, Jorvic Centre (excellent), the Shambles, Evensong at York Minster and just generally poking around the streets and alleyways. We have enjoyed some of the pubs and tea rooms. Had a lovely Sunday roast at Lamb & Lion, a very friendly visit to The Black Swan and a huge meal. The Ploughmans would easily feed 2 people. Can highly recommend a stay at Gillygate Central. It looks just like the photos.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2018
Wow! What a great review, thank you so much. It was great to finally meet you both during your European odyssey. Maybe another time?? You’d be very welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPER ACCOMMODATION IN A SUPER LOCATION”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Gillygate Central really is central to the major attractions of York. 3 minutes from the Art Gallery and only 5 from the Minster you are within easy reach of everything you want to see in York. The accommodation is just as described with everything that you could need. Spotlessly clean and a huge comfortable bed. The extras there on arrival were very welcome too (tea, coffee, bread and of course the bottle of Prosecco) I would highly recommend a stay here. Lynne the owner is so considerate and helpfull.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for a wonderful review! I was delighted you enjoyed your stay in York - as you have been to York several times before it was extra nice that you loved staying here! I really hope you come here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ludanDuns...
Dunsfold
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is a real home from home, the hosts Lynne and Mike are lovely people and nothing is to much trouble for them. The apartment is very modern and clean and has everything you could need. I suffer with my back but I had no problems as the bed is so comfortable. The welcome pack was very much appreciated after our long journey, they also provide lots of little touches which you don't normally get. Having garage parking for a medium size car (ours is a Hyundai I10) is a big bonus.
It was great being only a few minutes walk from the centre, with all the great attractions and eateries. This will be our first choice of accommodation whenever we visit York. Thank you Lynne and Mike for making our stay so wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
What a terrific review, thank you so much. Everyone likes to be appreciated and you certainly showed yours. We’d love to see you both again. And thanks for leaving the apartment in such immaculate condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakerjk
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
“Loved Gillygate”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location was perfect. The hosts, Lynne and Mike, were very warm and helpful. In fact, Lynne made me an appointment at her hairdresser and walked me over to the appointment at the designated time. Such a wonderful personal touch!
I loved the apartment. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was wonderful. I really enjoyed my stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thanks for a great review. It was our pleasure! So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Gillygate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caca53
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gillygate Central for 3 nights at the end of July. It is superbly situated for exploring York, just minutes from York Minster. Lynn, the owner came down to greet us when we arrived. She was lovely and full of info about York and recommendations for places to eat. The flat has everything you need for a holiday let and was really clean. The flat did get quite warm but we just had the front door open from time to time to cool it down. I would not hesitate recommending the flat to friends and family and would definitely return. By far best location we have stayed in York.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your review. It is quite unusual for North Yorkshire to get too hot!! We would be delighted if you visited again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing