We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the experience but probably wouldn’t return”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 17/09
20:00
Ranked #112 of 935 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have wanted to visit Betty’s for 30 years and was so excited to finally have the opportunity to go. We sat in the basement which was lovely and had a traditional feel about it. Loved the crockery and the silver plated teapots etc. We were going to have afternoon tea but the range of cakes and sandwiches didn’t sound too appetising so we opted for a few different cakes instead. Even then there wasn’t a large range. The cakes were nice but nothing special. Had better cakes in other local cafes during our visit. It felt like we were on a conveyor belt and we were yet again another paying customer. I thought the service would be a little more special. Overall we enjoyed our visit but sadly will never return again.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 185emmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (7,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 7,390 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were given an afternoon tea gift voucher and ate upstairs after booking. We were appalled at the quality of the tea provided. 7 tiny sandwich triangles to share, a cold (and clearly not very fresh) scone and two miniature cakes each. One drink each only, no refills. We have had afternoon teas in other popular tourist settings including well known fab hotels for the same price with double the quantity. It was embarrassingly poor quality. They are clearly ripping off tourists and using Covid as an excuse. We felt so sorry for the people who spent money buying us this as a gift.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank Morriefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were given an afternoon tea voucher for Xmas and drove to York. It was so disappointing. They offer only 3 tiny triangle sandwiches each, a cold scone each that did not taste fresh (very cold so possibly defrosted) 2 tiny miniature cakes each and one pot of tea or coffee pp. Whilst the setting is lovely we have had better value afternoon teas with a larger selection of sandwiches and more of them, plus warm fresh scones and full sized cakes. Other settings also offered refillable tea or coffees and other savouries such as warm freshly cooked scotch eggs. It definitely wasn’t worth £19:99 each.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank Kestrel2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited yesterday to celebrate 10 years together at Betty's and very glad we did!

**Just to note if you pre-booked then you don’t have to queue you go to the side door with the stairs to the Belmont Room (we queued for a few mins before realising!)**

We were greeted by very friendly staff and were asked if it was an occasion so we confirmed our 10 years. We got our tea/coffee followed by afternoon tea stand very promptly and the service at all times was brilliant! The sandwiches, scones, cakes and the silver service with the hot drinks were all really lovely!

Upon paying we were presented with two of the Betty's chocolate big coins as a token for our celebration very thoughtful.

Now this is where the customer service was amazing, realising later in the evening I had lost one of my shopping bags and hoped it may of been left at the tea rooms, I called today and they very kindly checked the lost property room, called me straight back to confirm it was found and they have reserved it for me to pick up in the shop today!

Couldn’t ask for more in terms of customer service abs such friendly and helpful staff all round 5 Stars is well deserved ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank StevenKWson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Well when in York it was a must! We tried booking online but sold out til September, member of staff give out menus whilst waiting and said 40mins wait - was about 30 mins in total. Not just tea and afternoon tea available and also had little rascal menu for daughter. But felt wrong getting anything other than afternoon tea! It was delicious ! Been and pleased finally have! Definitely recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank britton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.