We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Vio.com
US$94
View deal
Hotels.comUS$98
PricelineUS$99
TravelocityUS$98
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,020)
Filter reviews
2,021 results
Traveller rating
1,146
565
210
73
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,146
565
210
73
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath cigar shack lovely hotel free standing bath standard room nespresso machine junior suite main building car park per night city centre lovely room stayed here for one night following morning cooked breakfast a lovely stay hdv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,021 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2022 via mobile

An excellent stay! Our room was amazing, and the breakfast and dinner were both fantastic. All of the staff who we met really went out of their way to provide an outstanding level of service. We can’t wait to visit again!
A good cinema over the road too!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adventurer71233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eve Parkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2022

Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Du Vin York in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

I would run out of words to accurately describe how good this place is.

The hotel is in a very convenient location and all parts of the city are only a short walk away.
My girlfriend and I visited here as a special treat to celebrate our anniversary and it certainly was special.

We stayed in the signature suite called Belle Epoque. The room is absolutely stunning and beautifully decorated.
The bed is huge and really comfortable and the twin roll top baths really add to to how special and luxurious this room is.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and I have to mention a special shout out and thank you to the General Manager, Matt. He went out of his way to ensure that everything was to our liking.

Absolutely love this place and would recommend this hotel to anyone and I have every intention of making a return visit.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ferguso207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eve Parkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind review, it means the world to us that you and your girlfriend had such an amazing stay.
Belle Epoque is a gorgeous room!
It was a pleasure to host you and we would love to see you return soon! Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2022

The hotel is in a beautiful building with many original features and nice grounds. The rooms are all individual and luxurious, ours had a large bathroom with separate bath and lovely shower.

It is a 15 minute walk into York, being just outside the city walls but this makes it convenient for driving.

Would highly recommend, especially if you can get a deal at the right price!

Room tip: Not in the city centre so be prepared to walk
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank s9mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eve Parkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Du Vin York soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2022 via mobile

Nice hotel small & welcoming.
The room I stayed in was basic & tired looking but was comfortable.
Food was good during the lunch & breakfast. Plenty of choice.
Unfortunately you have to pay for parking which I feel is unnecessary when staying as a guest.
Staff are friendly but reception is very slow.
I would visit again as I like smaller hotels

Room tip: Parking available at a cost
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 101cigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eve Parkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry to hear you felt the room you stayed in was tired, please note we will be refurbishing many of our rooms in the New Year so next time you stay with us this issue should be resolved.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our lunch and breakfast, our bistro offer wonderful food.

We hope to welcome you to Hotel Du Vin York again!
]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022

Booked a single night with evening meal and breakfast at Hotel de Vin, York to celebrate partner's 60th birthday.
Easy to find and check in smooth. Champagne on ice in the suite on arrival. Suite clean, spacious and well appointed.
Evening meal a big disappointment. Restaurant not that busy and seated promptly. Staff friendly and helpful. Choice of menu disappointing. No rolls offered with starter. No fish dish available as choice for main. Very disappointing and food poorly presented. Breakfast was better with choice but hot drinks from vending machine and were luke warm. Cooked breakfast average.
At checkout tried to charge us £27 for drinks we'd never charged to room! Plus parking at £10 when we'd paid £600 for suite, evening meal and breakfast!
Right idea - poor execution!

Room tip: Cristal suite is excellent on top floor on your own!
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eve Parkinson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback, we highly appreciate this.

I am sorry to hear your meal in our bistro did not meet your expectations, this is disappointing to learn. We can always strive to improve and so we will take your comments on board regarding menu choices and presentation. Our menu changes seasonally and so we hope there is more choice for you on our next menu.

I am also sorry you were presented with the wrong bill upon departure, this is unsual and has been investigated with the relevant team. Please note, car parking is £10 per 24 hours for all guests and we do consider this a fair price in comparison to other parking in the city.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and our staff were able to assist you throughout your stay. We do hope to welcome you back to Hotel Du Vin York in the future and ensure your dining experience meets both yours and our expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews