We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb second visit”
Review of Wheldrakes

Wheldrakes
Ranked #1 of 34 Dessert in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Description: A small homely licensed independent coffee shop/cafe, available as eat in or take out. We are proud to do our share of using eco friendly products & waste management. Our house coffee blend is served here, Teapig teas & real hot chocolate or even a tipple of something stronger. We pride ourselves in homemade produce sourced locally fresh to order. From Homemade soup, scones baked daily by hand, homemade cakes, brownies, freshly made sandwiches & paninis, jacket potato, weekly specials, & much more. Catering for your dietary requirement. A little gem in the heart of the walls of York, we are situated near the monkbar. We do not take reservations & hold tables as we are a very small coffee shop.
Restaurant details
Description: A small homely licensed independent coffee shop/cafe, available as eat in or take out. We are proud to do our share of using eco friendly products & waste management. Our house coffee blend is served here, Teapig teas & real hot chocolate or even a tipple of something stronger. We pride ourselves in homemade produce sourced locally fresh to order. From Homemade soup, scones baked daily by hand, homemade cakes, brownies, freshly made sandwiches & paninis, jacket potato, weekly specials, & much more. Catering for your dietary requirement. A little gem in the heart of the walls of York, we are situated near the monkbar. We do not take reservations & hold tables as we are a very small coffee shop.
Reviewed 22 January 2019

After our last visit in August we had to return. The Raspberry and White Chocolate cake & the Cherry Bakewell cake were sublime. We return 4 consecutive days. We will return in February. Love it here!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank joolz24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 359 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, fantastic food and friendly staff. What more could you ask for? Usually busy, but that's simply because it's great! Love the panini's!

Date of visit: December 2018
4  Thank Passenger43466511563
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

First tried this because it was busy and now I know why-we ordered toasted sandwiches
which are all freshly made and certainly not short on filling the are served with crisps and a small salad.I must also mention the home made cakes a great selection also some are gluten free or veggie
Have since tried the breakfast and again freshly cooed with quality ingredients
If in York give it a try it will not disappoint.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

First time coming here, came based on all the good reviews and it was a short walk from where we were staying. We were not disappointed! The service is astounding and the food was amazing. This place has such a lovely warm atmosphere and the lady who was seating people and taking the orders couldn’t do enough for the customers! When we are back in York we will definitely be returning! Thanks Wheldrakes!

Date of visit: January 2019
5  Thank Grant5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

This place does really good food, service is excellent and the food is well cooked, fresh made and nicely presented. Prices are very reasonable and the staff are very friendly. Well worth visiting.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Wheldrakes also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wheldrakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.