We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake heaven”
Review of Wheldrakes

Wheldrakes
Ranked #1 of 33 Dessert in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Description: A small homely licensed independent coffee shop/cafe, available as eat in or take out. We are proud to do our share of using eco friendly products & waste management. Our house coffee blend is served here, Teapig teas & real hot chocolate or even a tipple of something stronger. We pride ourselves in homemade produce sourced locally fresh to order. From Homemade soup, scones baked daily by hand, homemade cakes, brownies, freshly made sandwiches & paninis, jacket potato, weekly specials, & much more. Catering for your dietary requirement. A little gem in the heart of the walls of York, we are situated near the monkbar. We do not take reservations & hold tables as we are a very small coffee shop.
Restaurant details
Description: A small homely licensed independent coffee shop/cafe, available as eat in or take out. We are proud to do our share of using eco friendly products & waste management. Our house coffee blend is served here, Teapig teas & real hot chocolate or even a tipple of something stronger. We pride ourselves in homemade produce sourced locally fresh to order. From Homemade soup, scones baked daily by hand, homemade cakes, brownies, freshly made sandwiches & paninis, jacket potato, weekly specials, & much more. Catering for your dietary requirement. A little gem in the heart of the walls of York, we are situated near the monkbar. We do not take reservations & hold tables as we are a very small coffee shop.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Our much anticipated return visit to York had to include a visit to Wheldrakes, we were disappointed to find it closed, but thankfully was due to open whilst we were there. I am Coeliac and know they serve a lovely selection of GF cakes, I was not disappointed, a lovely coffee and cake in a nice setting, lovely friendly service. Had a lovely chat with the owner who remembered us from previous visits. Highly recommended, we will be back next time we visit York, wish we could more often.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank blondie051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Incredibly friendly staff here, and the food was very tasty. We went as it was the only independent breakfast spot near our hotel, The Double Tree, that was open at 9am on Saturday and suited our vibe.
They had every alternative milk under the sun, which was great. They do a fab vegetarian breakfast (not many vegan options though) and the mozzarella sourdough was delish when we went back at lunch.
Topped it off with tea and a fresh cake from the window, very happy indeed

Date of visit: September 2021
3  Thank 835sarahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

If you are looking for a lovely little cafe in York, go here! I have coeliacs and I had possibly the best brownie I’ve ever eaten. Not only was it rich and chocolatey with bits of wispa on top, it was a very big slice at that. I also enjoyed pear juice (which I love but can rarely find) and my husband had a really lovely flat white.

The windows are filled with gorgeous home made cakes and the staff are lovely and attentive. My only complaint is that it’s a bit far to come on a regular basis because I live in Norwich! Nevertheless, I will continue to dream of the brownie I had here and attempt to recreate it!

Date of visit: September 2021
4  Thank 798jenniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021

First time sitting in for some food. I had the eggs benedict and my partner had the mozzarella wrap, both were very good and we really enjoyed our meals. excellent service and really accommodating. felt safe, in a post covid way! thanks again

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank heather r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

We got in just after 9am, which proved to be a good idea, as this place is rightly very popular - the queue outside quickly built up… Friendly and attentive staff, delicious food and great prices - perfect! I had scrambled eggs on granary and loved it!!

Date of visit: August 2021
4  Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Wheldrakes also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wheldrakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.