We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, outstanding service”
Review of Fox and Roman

Fox and Roman
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 30/07
20:00
Ranked #251 of 929 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Fox and Roman in York is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar whether it be by our fire during the Winter months or sitting in our Garden during the Summer, it is a great place to spend some time.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was delicious, best meal experience we had during our stay, but what really stood out was how well our waitress George dealt with our 7 year old's peanut allergy. Having had issues with other restaurants getting it wrong, this was a masterclass in how to get it right. Our youngest is quite sensitive and doesn't like making a fuss, easily put off food. He carries an epi pen, so it's a serious allergy, but handled very subtly, had a clear allergy menu and couldn't have been better dealt with. Lovely beef bourguinnon, lentil lasagne and kids menu excellent. Thanks guys, you made our last night in York really special!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank H5884CAandrewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear H5884CAndrewl
Thank you so much for such an amazing review.
It is great to hear that George ensured your son was able to enjoy his meal & that the whole experience was a special one. I have ensured George has seen your comments as recognition like this from a guest really gives the team member a boost.
Thank you again.
Take care
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here as we stayed over the road at the Marriott and didn’t fancy the food. We popped in for an evening meal with the family and the food was sensational. The burgers were amazing, hot and fresh. We also had food from the kids menu which was great and they also made up some mash and gravy for our youngest.
The food was that good we went over for Sunday lunch the next day which was lovely. Great service, great food and friendly staff.
Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank S_Rea19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear S_Rea19
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is really appreciated.
The chefs were really pleased to hear how much you & your family enjoyed the food…made their day.
Perhaps we will see you & your family in York again soon.
Take care
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called in here as it was close to our hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. The pub itself is warm and welcoming and even had packaged treats for the dogs. We all had food ranging from salmon to burgers and salads, as well as meals from the kiddies menu. The food was delicious and very good value for money. We will definitely go out of our way to go back again!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank S939FKdanieller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear S939FKdanieller,
We really appreciate the time you have taken to write such a lovely review, thank you so much.
It is also great to hear that you felt we were good value for money because with times currently as they are, that is important to us.
Hopefully we will see you back in York again.
Take care
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2021 via mobile

We booked this restaurant having looked at it online and read reviews. On arrival we were a little early but we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome and were shown to our table straight away. The staff were all really nice and efficient. The food was absolutely lovely. The pub is nicely decorated and it was very busy for a midweek dinner out. I would highly recommend this pub. Will definitely be returning in the future

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jill196.
We are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much that you took the time to post such a lovely review.
Thank you so much & we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Take care, regards
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2021

Excellent food. Helpful friendly staff. Prices on a par. So busy you need to book. There is ample parking and an outside area.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, thank you Julie R for such an amazing review. It is hugely appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and maybe see you again soon.
Take care, all the best
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Roman also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Roman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.