We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”

Miller & Carter Steakhouse
Ranked #66 of 594 Restaurants in Northampton
Description: For the love of steak! Beef is a labour of love here at Miller & Carter steakhouses. We put everything into pursuing the perfect steak, from the field to the butcher's block to the grill, so only the finest, most flavoursome cuts make your plate. The best of British and Irish beef. Our premium - graded beef is sourced from carefully selected cattle reared on sustainable British and Irish farms. It's then matured for at least 30 days, hand-prepared by our master butcher and expertly cooked by our chefs – for you to savour however you choose to. Though we're never short of a few recommendations.
Restaurant details
Description: For the love of steak! Beef is a labour of love here at Miller & Carter steakhouses. We put everything into pursuing the perfect steak, from the field to the butcher's block to the grill, so only the finest, most flavoursome cuts make your plate. The best of British and Irish beef. Our premium - graded beef is sourced from carefully selected cattle reared on sustainable British and Irish farms. It's then matured for at least 30 days, hand-prepared by our master butcher and expertly cooked by our chefs – for you to savour however you choose to. Though we're never short of a few recommendations.
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent service and setting. The staff are very helpful and professional. We had the mezze platter starter & the duck n cluck wings. Portions are a good size but we wanted to try more as it was our first visit. We ate the lot between two of us!
Mains, we had 18oz ribeye and the grain fed 10oz sirloin. You can choose your steak dressing so we had mushroom & beef dripping. They came with a palm size portion of French fries and a 1/4 wedge of iceberg lettuce that is dressed with your choice. This lettuce idea is great, such a tasty combo with a big steak.
In addition, we ordered the beef filled marrow bone - this is an over-priced accompaniment in our opinion. It’s an average of three teaspoons of shredded brisket sitting along a marrow bone (no marrow included so just presentational purpose) with melted cheese trickled over the top.
Drinks menu is extensive and quality wines.
Lighting and seating gives a comfortable ambiance. It’s a busy restaurant yet not too noisy.
The bar area gave an extra dimension to the experience as we used it before and after dining. Great place for romantic or lager groups.
Would return. It’s not cheap but that is reflected in the quality the customers are receiving.

Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Deborah C, wow, thank you so much for the positive review! Reviews like this keep us motivated to keep providing great service.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meals and all of the extras that come with it.
In regards to the Stuffed Marrow Bone, the bone marrow part is mixed in with the beef brisket when it is cooked to add to its flavour.

We look forward to seeing you again to enjoy another great experience with us!

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

What a fantastic meal we had at Miller & Carter Northampton tonight! We tried a good selection of dishes from steak, to fish, to vegetarian as well as from the youth menu. We were delighted to find the meals were ALL absolutely delicious as well as being superbly presented. Our waiter really looked after us, nothing was too much trouble. How lovely it was to have such a varied vegetarian menu to choose from, an unexpected surprise for a steakhouse. We all tried the dessert menu too & ALL our desserts were equally as delicious as the mains. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or just to have a stand out meal!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Stony6, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Miller & Carter Northampton. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Reviews like this keep us motivated to provide high quality service for all of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback we hope that you come back to enjoy another great evening with us.

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Recommend the chateaubriand sharing steak which comes with plenty of extras. A lovely treat, plus if you sign up for their newsletter you get offers every few months to keep you coming back.

Thank FoodMeansChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Stefanie R, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Miller & Carter Northampton!
The Chateaubriand is a favorite among our guests and our feedback forms help us ensure that standards are kept high so you can keep enjoying the Miller & Carter experience.

We hope to see you soon so you can enjoy our offers.

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Had a lovely evening helped by Tia our lovely waitress. Food was lovely and very well presented and cooked to perfection. Service was quick but we never felt rushed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Wendy B, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Miller & Carter Northampton!

Your kind words have been passed onto Tia and we hope that you come back to have another great experience with us.

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely 3 course 10yr anniversary meal here last night except my partner di said they would do something special for our anniversary ie write on out dessert etc but nothing so it left us disappointed!!!
My partners starter was cold which was frustrating and we had to ask for ir to be taken off the bill which the waiter kindly did!

Lovely steak lovely food and nice choice of cocktails etc but service is a bit on the slow side. Nevertheless we will be back at some point....

Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hello Jodie D, thank you; we appreciate your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you chose to spend your 10 year anniversary with us.
We do decorate plates to help guests celebrate special occasions and we are saddened to hear that this did not happen this time. I can assure you we will talk to our team to ensure things like this are not missed in the future.

We hope that you return to us as we would like you to enjoy more positive experiences with us and are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Steakhouse also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Miller & Carter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing