We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for a party in the pub!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roade House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Northampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We were advised to book into the Roade House when invited to attend my sister's 50th birthday party with friends in the local pub, the Cock Inn. It couldn't have been more convenient, as directly across the road from the pub and now under the same ownership.
We had room 7 which was large and had everything we needed, and more - the minibar contained complimentary soft drinks and chocolate bars, plus there was a carton of Pringles, 2 mini packs of cookies and 2 bottles of water - a lovely touch. The bed was comfortable and there was WiFi. The over-bath shower, although electric, was surprisingly powerful which was good.
Breakfast is taken in a room downstairs. It was good quality and tasty. However that room felt very bland and we were the only people there. As it was an unusually warm day, it would have been nice to eat out on the patio. We did get the waiter to find the key so we could finish our drinks outside which was lovely.
The hotel (more of a B&B now - the old bar seems to be more of lounge now) is a slightly odd place as it now has a deli in one section which serves afternoon teas and light meals as well as items like homemade pies from the deli counter. We did enjoy a late afternoon tea break in there and sampled a cream tea and toasted sandwich which were both good quality.
Overall the hotel/B&B suited our requirements and was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed for a two night break over my birthday. Staff were lovely. Not 'pushy' but helpful. Breakfast was all that you'd expect - cereals, fruit juice, full breakfast if you wanted it. We chose poached eggs, mushrooms and grilled tomatoes on toast. More than adequate. Plenty of tea or coffee. Room was clean and large. Good sized bathroom with complimentary soaps etc. A nice touch of choccies and juice in the fridge. Always welcome! Coffee shop underneath where we met up with relatives for coffee and also a nice lounge area. New owners took over in December. We wish them every success. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank honeychild43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Wonderful hotel friendly caring service. The Pub across the road (The Cock in Roade) is owned by the same people and served great food. I would recommend the sizzling stone steaks. Great service in both places. Vanessa and Ness looked after me so well I had a very relaxing stay and recommended the place to my company to use when other colleagues need to stay over for business.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Had seen some adverts on social media for the coffee shop re opening so thought as we had family visiting we would try it out for lunch.

I ordered a ploughman's and as my title suggests it was far from good. The cheddar and Brie were completely tasteless, there were no grapes as the menu promised, the bread was fair to middling, the butter was a tiny portion in a plastic portion pot more suited to a road side cafe than a village deli. Of the two orange juices I ordered (that were poured from a carton of extremely cheap from concentrate brand) they were completely different sizes despite the same price paid for both.

Maybe I was expecting too much but for the price I paid and the quality of clientele I would expect local fresh produce bursting with flavour, something for the staff to boast about not substandard over priced food that you could buy better than in Tesco.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank garff1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Never disappointed with Roade house. Food is always excellent quality, can be pricey but it is worth it.
Steak is my favourite, tender and juicy!
Sunday lunch is good value for money, often go with family.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Tava52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#20 of 27 in Northampton
425 reviews
8.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#8 of 27 in Northampton
1,326 reviews
11.0 km away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
507 reviews
23.9 km away
Shepherds Row
Shepherds Row
#1 of 20 in Northampton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roade House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roade House Hotel

Address: 16 High Street | Roade, Northampton, Northampton NN7 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range: $157 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roade House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roade House is an 11 room hotel and Coffee Shop/Deli in Roade, Northants. Centrally situated close to Junction 15 off the M1 motorway. Over the road is The Cock Inn serving food until 2130 7 days and a slightly later license than most pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Roade House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roade House Restaurant Hotel Northampton
Roade Hotel Northampton
The Roade House Hotel Northampton, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing