We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$365
Old Parsonage
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,500)
Filter reviews
3,500 results
Traveller rating
1,388
959
629
341
183
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,388
959
629
341
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorse barafternoon teaashmolean museummolton brown toiletriesconcierge teamdrawing roominspector morseturn down serviceexecutive roombeautiful buildingspecial occasionbreakfast servicerestaurant staffcentral locationcar parkingcooked breakfastold building
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 3,500 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is full of charm, yes it is old but that's what it all about. The service where perfect. Breakfast really nice. The hotel is in the end of the main street, no noise from the street and easy to walk to everything.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank TineH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TineH71,

Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic feedback of your recent stay at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your interactions with the team members and enjoyed the service.

Kind Regards,
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service in magnificent settings. The building is an old Oxford monument, which is an experience on its own. The hotel is located in the absolute center of the city, very close to most colleges, museums and shopping areas.

Room Tip: Room 401 has very nice views of the city
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Damas_Alep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Damas_Alep,

The team and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the Randolph, the location is perfect for a getaway to explore all that Oxford has to offer.

Warm Regards,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the Macdonald Randolph Hotel to have a drink at the famous Morse Bar but unimpressed opted to dine at their Acunthus Restaurant.
The concierge was very welcoming and directed us to the dining area.
On reaching the restaurant the Maitre d' asked us if we had a table reserved although the dining area was empty and seemed a little shocked that we didn't require a starter.
The setting of the restaurant was wonderful and extremely comfy.
My wife and I opted for two Acunthus burgers made from hand pressed Scottish beef, a bottle of water and a large glass of Rioja for £50.06.
All very well presented, cooked and very filling.
In the process of adding a gratuity for service to the bill my wife discovered that a service charge of £5.50 had already been added to the bill.
Rather crafty, although the service had been good.
Presented the £5 gratuity we were going to leave to a homeless person further down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear chriswood72,

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your evening and in particular the food and service you received in the restaurant. Please do come back and see us again soon to try more of our delicious new Acanthus menu.

Kind Regards,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Second time we've stayed at this amazing hotel! We stayed in room 404 and it was lovely and spacious. Bathroom was massive! We had access to the lounge which was a nice touch with drinks and nibbles included. Staff were friendly and concierge very helpful, especially William. The hotel is close to everything you need, shops, restaurants etc. Look forward to our next stay at this beautiful historic hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lisalashes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear lisalashes7,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Randolph. The team and I are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay when you came to visit us. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the team we have at the Randolph. The location is situated right in the heart of the city, perfect to get out and explore.

Please do come back and see us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On arrival.no doorman evident car parked carried bags in. Phone in room did not connect to room service. Premium room at front extremely noisy with traffic. Shower only no bath which for a so called five star hotel was a surprise.dinnerr no bread for table. No brown bread and butter with smoked salmon....first time in 50 years! Tartare not available for haddock main...had to be requested brought after some time. Plastic flowers! No choc or petit four with coffee. Dining furniture brown and marked...benefit from table cloths. So 'last century'! Bedroom hangers ....travelodge style in case guests steal them....five star! First night bar staff looked at me as if I was an armed robber....third night better. Breakfasts hit or a miss....butter maybe on table ask for marmalade. Supposed to be cooked but most items been under the 'keep warm' so were dry. The bacon roll option was miserable...big bap with a slice of bacon!! One morning no glasses for juice. Fresh milk was provided in room on request but not removed following day after it congealed. Valet parking was very efficient and friendly. Hotel mixture of three star and five star...expect former to avoid disappointment. Price at £400 approx per night is gross! We stay in five star hotels Goring London,Fairmont Four Seasons grand Hyatt etc.....this bite no comparison...sorry.

Room Tip: Don't get one to the front!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank johnchristinewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear johnchristinewright,

I am so sorry for the shortfalls you faced during your recent stay with us at the Randolph. This is not the 5* level of service that is normally delivered at the Randolph. Please be assured that learning's have been taken away following your experience and remedial training given to team members.

Please do reach out to me personally to discuss your feedback further on guestrelations.randolph@macdonald-hotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards,
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews