We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$361
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$713
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
US$105
Principal Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$201
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Diana's Bed & Breakfast(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
62
132
61
30
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
132
61
30
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationbreakfast traybubble bathcity centrecar parkrooms are basica bit tiredlocation is idealpriced hotelfew minutes walkvisit oxfordsmall hoteldouble bedplenty of hot wateryogurtfamily roomstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

While I was travelling alone, and didn't expect/require a bigger room for myself, I must say the room that I stayed in was way way too small to even spend for couple of hours of awake time. Horrific that I have stayed for 7 nights. So if separately rate for the room I will give 0 rating. However, the hotel management was great, and helpful; and the breakfast was awesome to say the least. Nicely located at the banks of the Thames. If you are working and just coming back to the hotel and going to sleep within 5 minutes, then - its a good hotel. Otherwise, go for some other option. Seriously!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammad Mukul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoxf, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Sir, thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear you commend the hotel staff and enjoyed an awesome breakfast, along with our excellent location, on the edge of the city while on the banks of the River Thames. You had booked a basic single room in our Annexe and we upgraded you to a room with a double bed in our main hotel. You stayed with us for seven days and it is true the room doesn't have much floor space. Had you mentioned your concerns to reception at any time during your stay we would have offered to switch you to another room, perhaps in our Annexe. We trust you had a worthwhile trip to Oxford and we hope you will consider our hotel should you return. Seriously, issues like this are best rectified during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

On the plus side the breakfast was excellent, the staff very friendly, good location. However the room was very small, the bedding was old blankets and the carpet was worn out. Very small TV which matched the room. Electric fan ineffective in keeping room cool. Carpets threadbare thru out and the rest of the hotel had a very tired and worn out feel.

Room Tip: Go for a modern hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClevedonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoxf, General Manager at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for your review ClevedonTraveller with all staff delighted to read their service and friendliness is well received. We are sorry you felt the bedroom tired. Although no help to you on this visit, the room you were allocated is scheduled for a new carpet very soon with all areas being systematically redecorated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A very friendly welcome and helpful suggestions on where to eat and which route was best to take. Our room was large and spacious, though the bathroom small but practical and functional.
A wide variety of continental breakfast items were available with the hot food cooked fresh and to order.
On check in we were asked if we had any dietary requirements and these were met with no problem at breakfast.
A short 10-15 min stroll will take you into the centre.
There was added security in take the front door is locked at 11pm so one uses the one in the car park, at the rear of the building.
Very nice. would recommend

Stayed: May 2018
Thank 470jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Very comfortable bed, clean, quiet room, excellent shower. Excellent breakfast. All staff very helpful and friendly. A local map was provided and our host suggested walks by the river into town, which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoxf, Front Office Manager at River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review Myrtle and we are delighted you enjoyed such a comfortable stay at the River Hotel and enjoyed the walk into Oxford along the River Thames. Your praise has been passed on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

This is a very nice place to stay. Close to town and walking distance to train and midtown.
The rooms are a touch tight but comfortable. Make sure you select the bathroom in room.
Great staff, very helpful and friendly.
I will be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chrisA1095QS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews