We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average B&B with friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was clean with lots of little extras such as water, coffee, biscuits etc. It was on the smaller side (we did know this was a smaller double when we booked) but was well designed and had everything you need. Bathroom was nice and clean. Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked with a great choice (loved the home made bread). The owner was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Overall would definitely return as it was an above average B&B.

If you like Indian food we would recommend the Spice Lounge situated up the road, great food and great service!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hk1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

They accommodated our late arrival time, our room was fab- spotless with really comfy bed, and there are lots of places to eat/drink within walking distance.

Our breakfast host was very personable, welcoming and genuine and the choice of breakfast was most excellent.

Couldn't fault anything to be honest.

We stayed here on route from yorkshire to portsmouth and picked it as it's handy for the A34. Now we think we'd like to visit Oxford.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_J_Skipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights in summer 2010.

We really enjoyed it, very modern and classy and in a great location for getting into Oxford.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Paulo1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We spent 5 nights at this hotel, and had a wonderful time. The room was large and the bed comfortable, and even though the hotel faces a main road, the traffic noise is not a problem, due to the triple glazing. The bathroom was clean with all mod cons. The room had free Wi-Fi as well.

There is free parking on the property or in the side street nearby. The centre of Oxford is a short bus ride away, with the buses coming every few minutes.

We can not speak highly enough of Nes, the owner of this excellent B&B, who takes personal care of every detail and is a delightful host. He is warm and friendly, and very helpful with advice. The full English breakfast is ordered from a menu and individually prepared. Nes is personally involved, taking one's order and making sure that the food is cooked and served promptly in the comfortable breakfast room.

When we left, Nes came out to the car and personally thanked us and wished us a safe trip. We highly recommend Burlington House and will certainly return if we come back to Oxford.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colinschles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The manager (not sure if he's the owner) is very obliging, obsequious even, and this may be what luxury travelers expect or demand, but for us it was a bit much. This was pricier than our other stops, but it was also a bit nicer. That said, we had our best breakfasts here, and we can't complain about the rooms, except that they were a bit warm. The location, which is a few minutes from town, is standard in Oxford and Cambridge unless you're staying in a large hotel. Being on a main road turned out to be convenient and was not at all loud.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
3.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.5 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
536 reviews
2.6 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $187 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing