We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel close on Oxford city outskirts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2017

It's hard to find a decent hotel close to the city centre which isn't at an extortionate rate. If you find a a cheaper hotels nearer town, be prepared to compromise on quality. I have stayed here a few times for work, and with free parking, it's the perfect middle ground between close to the city at a competitive price. Lovely hotel and decor, up to date interior. Friendly staff and great cooked breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel when staying in Oxford. It's about a 8 minute ride on the bike to town or 25-30 min walk depending on your walking pace. Restaurants within 5 minute walk of hotel in SummerTown.

Room Tip: The single rooms are still very big. Call the hotel for description, because they can be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OwensBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

This is a good B&B, but I'm not sure it deserves 5 gold stars.
The breakfast was mostly jolly good, two parts less so -- bland coffee, and not-very-well microwaved scrambled eggs (maybe poached would have been better?) The rest was fine - a medium-sized buffet, good bacon, sausages and mushrooms. The much-hyped bread was OK. Responsive, willing service.
Our "courtyard" room was disappointing -- modern, somewhat dark, a good spacious shower room let down by a lack of floorspace in the bedroom (on one side of the bed in particular) and a lack of space to put things down. The Banbury Road is busy during the day but we slept well. Can't speak for the rooms in the main house (which for obvious reason will presumably vary in space and layout).
I know Oxford is expensive, but I'd expect better for £115 a nigh for two

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exiledwelshman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We spent a lovely couple of nights in this hotel. It is about a 10-15 minute bus ride from the City centre but buses are so frequent that this wasn't a problem. We were warmly greeted, with offer of refreshments, and shown to our room. We had booked the king room which was spacious and comfortable. It had the best shower I've ever used! No AC but a fan was provided which was more than adequate. I had emailed ahead to ask if gluten free bread could be provided for my breakfast and they had also purchased GF muesli for me, which was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious, leisurely, and we never felt rushed to finish at the advertised time. Diane and her family and staff were delightful and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Burlington House was a new choice for us after staying in Oxford on many occasions. It's out from the city center but has buses going in all the time, ending at Broad St., maybe 5 minutes or less apart. One can get a pass for the week to save money on that inconvenience. However buses, for my purposes for 1/2 the week, are available to Woodstock and Chipping Norton, the other direction. The other nice aspect of this new to us location is that it's much closer than in city centre to the trails over to Port Meadows, where one finds the Perch and Trout Pubs which are cherished places to visit in summer. The Boat House where you can obtain a punt is also fairly close----as is walking to the Victoria Arms, another summer treat on the Cherwell. Summertown itself, where Burlington is, has many delightful restaurants, a great wine bar, some shops....very pleasant.

Apart from location, the Hotel is delightful. We had a quiet room on the top floor, spacious enuf for England, lovely family who is most helpful running the hotel and serving a chef prepared breakfast daily. Diane saw to our every need and beyond. The house cleaning staff did their job well also. There is no AC but our room faced North and stayed quite cool during the day, so when we returned after a busy day out we were able to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: We had room 1---quiet, up 3 flights---good view out of the residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

The room was tiny to say the least, it was not in the main property, it was in a cabin thing at the side of the house , not what I was expecting especially for the price. The breakfast was not great, mainly eggs on the menu and not much else, very limited no fresh fruit on offer . Again not what we was expecting especially as it was a 5 star hotel. I don't think so, more like a 3 + star and nothing more . We won't be staying here again .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
3.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.5 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.6 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
3.3 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $175 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing