We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
501
234
80
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
234
80
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vicarage suite white company toiletries private garden complimentary mini bar trellis room lewis carroll kit kat boutique hotel listed building rainfall shower quiet side street fresh milk there is no air conditioning great central location central oxford lovely hotel breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

The location of this quaint (Grade 2 building) Hotel is fabulous. An easy walk to all inner city attractions. Breakfast was more than adequate and receptionist was most helpful. If you are over 65 this may not be a suitable hotel for you. There is no on site parking nor concierge or parking service. The closest parking is a good 5 minute walk away although you can drive into Michael St, drop off your cases at reception for you to take to your room later, take your car to the car park, then walk back. The tiny receptionist (nearly as small as me) helped us with our bags which were very heavy. I didn't want her to do this, it should have been a concierge. You need to get back to your car to pay more money by 8:00am, if you haven't paid the overnight levy. The hotel has been empathetically decorated but as previously stated there is no air conditioning, nor bathroom ventilation. Bathrooms are fresh and have modern decor. Being an old building, rooms are small. In order to access our bags we found it necessary to place them on the bed. Having said that we found the hotel adequate for our needs but you really pay for the location.

Room Tip: A lower floor means less steps to haul your suitcases as no lifts.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wen3938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Wen3938,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am really pleased that the hotel and its location were to your liking. Its great to read the the team positively impacted your stay, i will be passing on your comments. Although no parking on site, all road and rail links are only minutes walk away.

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Nice district and friendly staff. The building and room is not the most modern one and there is no air conditioning in the room nor ventilator in the bathroom.
Breakfast is good. I wish I had more time enjoying it.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nanyang2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear nanyang2018,

Thank you for taking the time to write. Vanbrugh House is a historic grade 2 listed property, full of character and charm. Due to the nature of the property air conditioning was not permitted when refurbished, but we do provide fans in every room. It is fabulous to read that our breakfast was to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

This is a wonderful hotel with a delicious breakfast at the best location. All in walking distance. Oxford is an interesting college town and it was nice to come back after almost 40 years. At that time I was a student with little money and this time I was able to stay in one of the best hotels :)

Room Tip: The room in this old hotel is modern, big and very clean. It is easy to stay one night, but also a whole week. You feel very comfortable.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RolCin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear RolCin96,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review. Its great to read that you enjoyed your return to Oxford and enjoyed your stay at Vanbrugh House Hotel. Don't leave it quite so long next time!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

If the Vanburgh House Hotel was a mid range B&B charging less than half what it currently does then it would be a feasible option for a budget stay in Oxford. However as it currently charges about 20% more than the Randolph it is little more than a bad joke.
Do not be fooled by the pictures on the website; they are all of one suite: the best room in the house. Unless you are in this room, your experience will not live up to expectations.
The “junior suite” is merely a tiny room, with an unlit dressing table in the corridor to the bathroom (no bath only a shower).
The decor is more 1960s than classic deign, with broken and missing light bulbs, cracks in the walls and faded paintwork.
The “complimentary mini-bar” is two bottles of water, a kit Kat and a bag of crisps; charged for top up if you stay more than one night. (As there is no Aircon and the windows barely open, fresh water is required continuously in hot weather).
The breakfast room (in the dungeon like basement) has six tables: there are over 20 rooms, so be prepared to wait around in the (tiny) reception area or try your luck two or three times to get a table.
The highlight of the stay (in a Fawlty Towers kind of way) is the breakfast service. Please note:
1) You are not permitted to chose a different beverage than you partner, or to change your beverage order on the second or subsequent days. This will result in a seriuos reprimand from the waiter.
2) If you do not find cutlery on your table DO NOT take a knife or spoon from another adjacent table. This will result in a serious reprimand from the waiter.
3) Do not order fried eggs or eggs Benedict with runny yolks, this will be seen as provocative behavior and you will be treated with scorn by your waiter.

Overall; if you can afford to stay at Vanburgh House Hotel, you can afford to stay somewhere MUCH nicer. If you want reasonably priced mid/range accommodation, you will get better value (pretty much anywhere else).

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilipinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear PhilipinDublin,

How disappointing it is to read your one star review and as you can see from our previous reviews, this is very much a rarity. Customer service rely's on a relationship between the business and the guest, and this is where our relationship has fallen down. We pride ourselves on our guest satisfaction, and that not only means giving great service but also great guest recovery. It is through guest feedback that we learn, and begin to excel. However, if the guest does not bring the issues to our attention during the visit, it is difficult to put into action the service necessary to redeem the situation. Not addressing the situation fully, leads to frustration and the writing of poor reviews or comments.
I am truly sorry that you left dissatisfied, as this is not our intention at all.At Vanbrugh House we like nothing more than for all our guests to leave happy and rested. I thank you for your feedback and will be looking into each point where deemed accurate.

Guests please note: The Oxford union suite, and all other rooms types are pictured on the website.

Kind regards
David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I would look at other hotels in Oxford before deciding on this one. We would rate this hotel in the GOOD not VERY GOOD category.
The positives:
- Centrally located
- Helpful staff
- Good breakfast
The negatives:
- Expensive, but having said that Oxford is an expensive city.
- Breakfast room too small for the number of guests
- Beds were too hard
- Mini bar, soap and shampoo not replenished on a daily basis
- Very hot rooms with little ventilation
- Street outside dirty with rubbish and cigarette butts

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3,777,777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave R, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear 3777777,

Thank you for taking the time to write. In terms of rubbish outside the hotel, this is due to Oxford council making daily pick ups from the street between 7am and 8am. This is similar across Oxford city center and understand your comment. However, its great to read the positives in your review.

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House Hotel,

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews