We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, country charm”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Bakehouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Susan W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy, country charm”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We visited during a cold and grey weekend and felt warm and cozy, thanks to excellent heating and a wood-burning stove with all supplies helpfully provided. The decor is beautifully simple and soothing, and every detail has been considered--pegs to hang things where there should be pegs, throw blankets handy to the beds and chairs, fresh household supplies, a huge range of up-to-date DVDs. It's a short walk to the White Horse pub, which serves decent food, and we took a bracing countryside walk over to Finstock where the Plough Inn serves a slightly more upmarket menu. A really great getaway for a country weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Delighted that my guests gave enjoyed living in the cottage with its comfy and homely commodities. I look forward to welcoming them again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neil T
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Old Bakehouse was everything we wished for an old cottage in a beautiful and very friendly village.
Rosamund was a fantastic host who provided great information from booking till the end of our holiday.
The cottage is in a great spot for exploring Oxford and the Cotswolds then after a long day relax in this lovely cottage in front of a nice fire.
Highlights where Blenheim Castle,Waddesdon Manor,Stowe,Oxford and Christ Church,Burford and Bourton,Buscot park and Cotswold wildlife park.
Will return soon loved our holiday here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you Neil, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it was a real pleasure to have you and your family as guests. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Ros
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rkemsley
Sittingbourne
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant retreat to relax and slow down on honeymoon”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband selected this place for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. Ros is s superb hostess wiling to share her local knowledge of the area and ensure your stay is all that you want it to be. The cottage has been carefully renovated and is perfect. The village is quiet and friendly and with so many places to visit you will want to return. We certainly shall. The Wi-Fi is stable so for the workaholics among you can keep in touch with the office while away. We celebrated a beautiful honeymoon here ready to face what the world has for us back in Sittingbourne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Liked least: Learning to operate to country time it was worth it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your positive response, I am delighted that you found it perfect for your honeymoon. It was my pleasure to welcome you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahFro...
2 reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Ros was extremely helpful in sorting out our booking for a rather last minute getaway for my husband's 30th birthday. The cottage was really clean and beautifully decorated with all that you could need for a comfortable stay.

Our 8 month old was happy crawling around and the log fire was perfect for a cosy evening in. Lots of great places to visit nearby and Woodstock had some lovely cafes and pubs. We would definitely come again and were only sorry we didnt get to meet Ros this time.

Thank you for a perfect first break away as a little family Ros!

Hannah, James and Rupert x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you and I am so glad that you enjoyed your week end I look forward to welcoming you again in the future and being there in person to greet you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing