We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant in Oxford”

Cherwell Boathouse Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 675 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$69
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: You've planned an afternoon punting a la Sebastian Flyte - you've got the boater, the stripy blazer, the wind-up gramophone and the obligatory teddy bear, but whoops, forgotten the picnic. Instead of eating sweaty sandwiches, plan your punting excursion round eating at Cherwell Boathouse. Owned and run by the same family for the past 30 years, Cherwell Boathouse, as its name suggests is right on the banks of the Isis (Oxford speak for the Thames) in a truly scenic spot. The restaurant is small and intimate with a beautiful terrace but not twee. The atmosphere is buzzy and lively and there is a huge range of age groups. However, if you are truly set on a picnic, the restaurant will organise a hamper for a minimum of 15 people if you pre-order. What's cooking: Fish Terrine with a light crab mayo; fragrant Thai broth, crispy sea bream with courgette and carrot tagliatelle on a bed of noodles with a tomato and caper jus; baked breast of mallard with a cranberry compote; white chocolate and ginger torte; chocolate layered crepe cake.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I visited Oxford (from London) in between lockdowns last year and enjoyed a lovely lunch at Cherwell Boathouse. At the time, we vowed to return to Oxford to enjoy the beautiful city some more and to have dinner at Cherwell Boathouse. We have now done so and, once again, were very impressed with the restaurant. The food was excellent both in presentation and quality, there is a very interesting, good-value wine list, and the service was outstanding. We had a wonderful evening and look forward to returning on our next visit to Oxford.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ClaireFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2021

We had lunch for two on a table overlooking the River Cherwell and the punt station. Those tables on a sunny summer day are a great place to eat the good food served up by the helpful staff at the Cherwell Boathouse.

There are now several options as to where to eat with more or less airflow depending upon choice from outside to the original room where the tables at the back can feel a bit dark on a nice summer's day, but are cool.

There is a choice of menus with the three course lunch menu good value for money. Everything is served and cooked very well and the wine list for those that know their wines is well worth exploring.

The restaurant offer themed dinners and music events from jazz to piano and opera. Parking on-site is limited by there should be plenty of three hour free parking on Chadlington Road at the top of the drive.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cosmopolitan800580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Having read the previous reviews recently I was a little apprehensive about coming here. The interior and decking could do with a bit of tlc but overall we had a nice meal if not great.
Beef carpaccio was a little chewy and my halibut was in the pan a couple of minutes too long. This dish had nice flavours but just the fish cookery off. Creme caramel too set. Others faired better. Aubergine/goats toasts, chicken main and waffles all good.
I thought wine list interesting and fairly priced. Pol Roger at £10.25 a snip !!
Overall I think a 3.5 but I say a 4 because of the excellent service we had from a young lady (french I think) who was very efficient and just the right level of friendliness.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank jamlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Really poor. Food massively overpriced and poor in quality. Seems like this place is living on its location and past reputation.

Very tired decor, service ok but not great. Had to send one dish back as it was so bad.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

The restaurant is shabby and the toilets and general decor are very tired. The menu and website make it seem like fine dining but the presentation of the food is more like something from a pub. We came for our first wedding anniversary and were very disappointed by the lack of atmosphere and the average food. Fine for a break when punting but not a special occasion destination. We won’t be returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank T914HOsarahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cherwell Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Cherwell Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.