We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food casual relaxed atmosphere”

George Street Social
Ranked #2 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Description: George Street Social is on a mission to offer fantastic food, drink and hospitality to the good people of Oxford. We are open from 8am daily (9am on weekends because no one wants to be up THAT early) all the way through to 11pm. We make the most of that time by cramming in as much fun stuff as we can possibly handle, from our bottomless Prosecco brunches at the weekend to our week-night happy hour and Friday After Work Social.
Restaurant details
Description: George Street Social is on a mission to offer fantastic food, drink and hospitality to the good people of Oxford. We are open from 8am daily (9am on weekends because no one wants to be up THAT early) all the way through to 11pm. We make the most of that time by cramming in as much fun stuff as we can possibly handle, from our bottomless Prosecco brunches at the weekend to our week-night happy hour and Friday After Work Social.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a busy vibrant restaurant/cafe at which we ate an evening meal, The food was very good especially the Lamb Tagine. Prices were not bad for food either. The place is very casual and relaxed so much so that people seem to sit around with one drink/coffee for hours so look around carefully you may think there isn't room but maybe by moving seats/tables you can get yourself a place

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piotr K, General Manager at George Street Social, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris
Many thanks for your review and such a great words about our place. We are working very hard to make sure the spaces as available all the time and good service is provided on both levels, so hopefully your next visit will be even more successful so we can earn 5star review
Many thanks
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We came for the happy hour which was the first time we ever drank at George Street Social. We usually use it for coffee and cake during the day (by the way the red velvet cake is absolutely to die for and the slice often defeats you). The bartender (who’s name I can’t remember- but he had a bad leg) did his best to make sure the manger went and grabbed some prosecco so we could redeem the £16 bottles for happy hour. We tried to be cheeky and Lish for a free bottle after the delay and to the manager’s credit (the lady with blonde hair) she offered us another bottle for £16 or even better a discount on some champagne- having been drinking since 5 we decided to opt to stick to the two.
All in all a great evening and the team will do anything they can to make sure you leave happy, they’re passionate about good service.

Coffee , cake, prosecco the best things you need in a Venue.

2  Thank KAM-OXF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piotr K, General Manager at George Street Social, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear KingstonMyles
Many thanks for your review. All team is always aim to deliver great customer service and ensure our guests are happy. Marco and Karolina have made right decision to make sure your evening went smooth till the end. Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
Peter K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Great Host! Delicious food and our glass was never empty!! (We participated in the ‘all you can drink’ deal).

Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piotr K, General Manager at George Street Social, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Darren C
We are delighted that your lunch was so successful and whole team is looking forward to your next visit. Remember you can organise all sorts of events in our lovely Pub. Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for brunch. Very welcoming and friendly service. The food was tasty, fresh and the ambience relaxed. Definitely will recommend and also visit again. ❤️

Thank Oana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piotr K, General Manager at George Street Social, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Oana I
We are over the moon with your review and please pay us a visit soon to enjoy more of our great food and drinks
Looking forward to your next visit. To stay updated with all our offers you can download our app CityClub.
Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends for the bottomless brunch, although on occasion we had to grab their attention to top up our glasses the staff were brilliant and the food was great.

Very friendly, would absolutely visit again.

Thank n27walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piotr K, General Manager at George Street Social, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear n27Walker
Many thanks for such a great review. We are delighted that your recent visit deserved 5stars and will ensure that "glasses are always full" during your next lunch with us
Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Street Social also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to George Street Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing