We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Blenheim Palace
from US$123.96
More Info
from US$381.59
More Info
from US$90.53
More Info
from US$348.19
More Info
Reviews (7,997)
Filter reviews
7,997 results
Traveller rating
4,832
1,885
660
329
291
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,832
1,885
660
329
291
Show reviews that mention
All reviews annual pass winston churchill butterfly house untold story day ticket formal gardens christmas lights the secret garden pleasure gardens state rooms christmas market at no extra cost stately home beautiful grounds gift shop entrance fee audio tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 7,997 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Visit was consistently ruined by a performance art group that were constantly making noise and getting in the way. It made the visit so horrible I will never come again.

Date of experience: August 2021
6  Thank Y6977LQstuarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Front Office Manager at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Dear Y6977LQstuarth,

Thank you for your comments and feedback about your visit.

Kind regards,

Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

I found Blenheim Palace underwhelming. Don't get me wrong, it's an absolutely stunning place that will take your breath away at first sight but the tours lack that certain something.
The worst part of the day though was the "performance art" piece currently on at the Palace. Call me a heathen but when I hear: "performance art" I immediately think: "RADA drop outs trying to pad out a CV".
From what I could gather this performance art piece consisted of a group of people making car alarm sounds across the palaces impressive court yard, making ear ringing sounds that somehow didn't shatter the pottery inside the main entrance and a piece where they all just sat on the cricket pitch outside (which quite frankly must annoy the local teams groundman)
All in all I think my review is rather influenced by these unwanted "art" pieces. Maybe I couldn't take in the palaces charm because I kept thinking my car was being broken into.
I can't help thinking that a majestic Palace should just speak for itself.
Oh I forgot the piece where they stood in the fountains and sort of wobbled about a bit. Like a scene from a bad B movie where the fish people try to take over the earth. Why the ducks also had to suffer watching this drivel is beyond me.

Date of experience: August 2021
3  Thank TommyHungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Front Office Manager at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Dear TommyHungy,

Thank you for taking the time review your time with you.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy this artwork during your visit.



In 2014, the Blenheim Art Foundation launched a programme of contemporary art at Blenheim Palace. Every year, Blenheim invites an artist to show their work at the Palace and in its grounds. Country houses have a history of being great patrons to the arts and Blenheim Palace is no exception: the Spencer-Churchill family has a long history of collecting art and objects from around the world. Each generation of Dukes has brought new treasures to the Palace. We are aware that contemporary art isn’t for everyone, but Blenheim Art Foundation’s aim is to introduce our visitors to an opportunity to see the Palace and its grounds in a new way.



A pioneer in his field, Tino Sehgal is considered one of the most innovative and influential artists of his generation. His exhibition at Blenheim will introduce our visitors to a practice unlike any other that has been presented here before. Placed in the spacious area of the Great Hall, Kiss should hopefully give our visitors plenty of space to enjoy the many other works of art on display. As the only artwork by Tino Sehgal displayed in the Palace itself, we hope that the rest of your visit was enjoyable and that the impact which Kiss had on it was limited.

Kind regards,

Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

A fantastic place to visit, and soak up Churchill and the grand house plus the amazing gardens. The Churchill exhibition itself brought the man to life.

What lets it down are 2 things : signage and ridiculous art installations.
Beginning with the former, don't approach on the A44 from the North West. You'll get lost. The brown signs point you through single width streets of poor, little Woodstock! The brown signs lie. Ignore the brown signs and be ready to lurch to the right when you see some un-signposted big gates as you leave the village. If you're coming from Oxford, you'll be fine. Lots of signage that way.
Now for the art. Hopefully that's just this week and no other visitors will be subjected to the distracting, pointless, annoying and irrelevant singers chanting, sidestepping and rolling round the floors throughout the building and the grounds. Ugh!

Apart from that, the house, rooms, guided tours and staff are wonderful.
Shame it didn't stop raining the day we went, but that's nobody's fault. Well worth a visit (coming from Oxford).

Date of experience: August 2021
3  Thank SheilaDanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Front Office Manager at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Dear SheilaDanT,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace and we will take your feedback on board.

Kind regards,

Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Haven’t been to Blenheim Palace for many years, but on a recent trip to Oxfordshire, decided to take my husband. It is still a magical place to visit. You can spend all day, just walking around the grounds, which are beautiful. The house in all it’s splendour is worth booking, plus the Winston Churchill Exhibition and the stables. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. It is worth taking a picnic and sit around the Lakes. Due to Covid there wasn’t as many visitors, especially from overseas, but there was still a problem getting somewhere to sit in the cafes, especially at the busy times. We transferred our entrance price into a season ticket, so we will definitely return.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank LYG150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Front Office Manager at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Dear LYG150,

Thank you for your kind words about your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021

We paid around £75 for three season tickets and then upon our visit found that the tour of this vast house is significantly shorter than it used to be and over pretty quickly as you are no longer allowed upstairs, this is not mentioned on the website. We asked two separate staff members about the 'downstairs tour' only to be told that there isn't one and never has been one which is odd as it is advertised on the website as " a glimpse of the lives of palace staff over the centuries". ???
Upon our arrival we also encountered roughly 20 oddballs walking back and forth chanting "bum,bum,bum humming and making odd miaowing noises and then another couple inside the entrance hall sitting in the middle of the floor making odd squealing sounds if you were unlucky enough to catch there eye, apparently this is what passes as 'art' nowadays ,but from our experience and the slack jawed stares of other visitors trying to stifle laughter it fell very wide of the mark and is sorely misjudged, the human interaction after lockdown that we desire is not an experience that makes us feel uncomfortable or angry that it has been inflicted upon us.
The house itself is amazing and wandering through the grounds was lovely, but all in all it felt as if we had been short changed,we understand that covid has drastically reduced your income, but we lost money too

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Andy3469
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Front Office Manager at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Dear Andy3469,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the art exhibition put on by Blenheim art foundation.

Kind regards,

Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews