We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and atmosphere, poor service.”

Comptoir Libanais Reading
Get food delivered
Ranked #66 of 630 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Description: The food at Comptoir is fresh, healthy, honest and affordable. Comptoir wakes up early to provide customers with unique Lebanese breakfasts to eat in or take away; offering everything from organic yoghurt topped with pomegranate and orange blossom water, porridge and halloumi cheese and za’atar croissants. Visit for lunch and dinner and enjoy all types of interesting and colourful dishes, including hot and cold mezze – perfectly sized for sharing- wraps, salads, tagines, grills and Man’aesh (Lebanese style pizzas). For dessert, nothing is more authentic than the sweet taste of baklawa – Lebanese pastries in a variety of flavours such as date filled semolina and walnut filled flaky pastry. Drinks include freshly squeezed juices, homemade lemonades and Lebanese inspired cocktails. All products can be packaged up and enjoyed on the go.
Restaurant details
Description: The food at Comptoir is fresh, healthy, honest and affordable. Comptoir wakes up early to provide customers with unique Lebanese breakfasts to eat in or take away; offering everything from organic yoghurt topped with pomegranate and orange blossom water, porridge and halloumi cheese and za’atar croissants. Visit for lunch and dinner and enjoy all types of interesting and colourful dishes, including hot and cold mezze – perfectly sized for sharing- wraps, salads, tagines, grills and Man’aesh (Lebanese style pizzas). For dessert, nothing is more authentic than the sweet taste of baklawa – Lebanese pastries in a variety of flavours such as date filled semolina and walnut filled flaky pastry. Drinks include freshly squeezed juices, homemade lemonades and Lebanese inspired cocktails. All products can be packaged up and enjoyed on the go.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good food menu, the burger was slightly greasy. Enjoyable dining location in central Reading. Unpleasant waiter though soured the experience somewhat.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teamlworkswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked restaurant and was guided to download app. Was pleased to get £5 off bill if ordering food through the app. After ordering through the app (mezze and main) they bought out the main first! When asked where our mezze was the manager blamed the app for not disguising between starter and main and it was our fault that it was brought together. We challenged this. Good customer service would have ment they came to the table and asked! Sent back mains - asked for them to be remade- the obliged . Would have walked out but app had taken card details so had no choice.

Food itself was tasty and faultless - need to work with the app and use common sense and judgement then would have had glowing reviews.

Willing to try again as food was great.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank kirstyhR248ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch
Service was ok to start
Staff wheeling the kitchen rubbish through the restaurant was pretty grim when they returned to preparing food straight after
Most kitchen staff (all but 1) were not wearing masks whilst prepping food
Salad was brown an wilted
Cutlery given to the table in a pot with stale mayonnaise inside it leaving the cutlery dirty
Inattentive waiting staff, very nearly walked out because we were unable to get attention for the bill for 45 minutes, despite being the ONLY customers there

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Mobile55681227040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lunch at Comproir Libanais having not be able to visit on a number of prior trips to Reading. Greeting was not enthusiastic and basically we seated ourselves (having been given choice to go inside or outsde). Outside has a few families so we took a table there.

Ordering was ok but little interest in us or what we chose once we ordered - we were then completely ignored other than to drop the food off food service was really slow as well. We had finished our drinks long before we ate but no one came to ask if we wanted anything else.

Unfortunately for us - we had not realised that the outside space allowed smoking. There were no signs to indicate this and honestly this finished off what was already a disappointing and frankly over priced lunch. I did pay service which was automatically added but frankly I am not sure what service I was really paying off.

Really disappointing

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank FamilySTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021

I was there Wednesday for a some lunch, was my first time, no ideea what to oreder, and i asked the waiter for sugestion, the gentleman gave me some really nice courses, and provided me wit a profesional and knowledge service. Thank you for that Florian.
I highly recomend this establishment.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 677mihaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihai I, General Manager at Comptoir Libanais Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2021

Dear Mihai,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very pleased to read your comments about Florian, and to learn that you enjoyed your visit so much. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon. I will personally make sure that Florin gets the feedback!

Yours sincerely,
Mihai Ionescu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comptoir Libanais Reading also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Comptoir Libanais Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.