We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing breakfast”

Beefeater Reading Gateway
Ranked #225 of 658 Restaurants in Reading
Description: Beefeater opened their doors back in 1974, and were driven by a passion for glorious steak. Mouth-watering cuts at mouth-watering prices was their motto. Reassuringly nothing's changed, these things still drive them today and they always will. Beefeater believe in two things, a warm friendly welcome and serving incredible steak that you can kick back, relax and enjoy. Come & experience our famous hospitality & mouth-watering food.
Restaurant details
Description: Beefeater opened their doors back in 1974, and were driven by a passion for glorious steak. Mouth-watering cuts at mouth-watering prices was their motto. Reassuringly nothing's changed, these things still drive them today and they always will. Beefeater believe in two things, a warm friendly welcome and serving incredible steak that you can kick back, relax and enjoy. Come & experience our famous hospitality & mouth-watering food.
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Disappointing breakfast.
Everything seemed empty, had to ask for coffee tea, plates, spoons. The Bakery section almost empty although some refills did arrive during our visit. But no eggs or black pudding on the hot counter and unfortunately the staff didn’t seem bothered either it was continually asking.
If this was my first visit to a beefeater it would have been my last but we often have a family breakfast at our local beefeater (the Frome flyer) and had expected similar. Unfortunately it wasn’t the case.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beefeater Reading Gateway, General Manager at Beefeater Reading Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2022

Thank you taking the time to leave us a review! We apologize to hear that you had a negative experience with us, if you would like to discuss this further then please call us on 0118 207 5867. We would love to sort this for you. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2022

One of the worst places I have ever been to…… before coming here we read the reviews and didn’t listen to them which I regret! From the moment we stepped foot into this restaurant we had a bad experience. There was only one waiter and she couldn’t keep up, the chefs had to serve it was that bad. Our starter came before our drinks which was half hour later. The waiters didn’t check up on us to see how our meal was and didn’t take our plates. I had to get up myself to get the bill. One chef I must say did his absolute best to help but there needed to be more staff. When I asked for the bill they just stared at me.. customer service was absolutely shocking. I had to pay £66 for food that we half ate because we was put off. Honestly trust me when I say do not go here… we was talking to other customers when we were there and they was also not happy. One customer asked for the bill and they got it half hour later. I would not recommend this place to anyone, I’m very disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Z2049KPlucyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beefeater Reading Gateway, General Manager at Beefeater Reading Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2022

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very apologetic for the negative experience you had with us. You are correct we were very understaffed. If you would like to discuss this further please call us on 0118 207 5867. We would love to get this sorted for you.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2022

After visiting your restaurant not having booked, and walking in to a very hectic Sunday, we where greeting by Tom and seated very efficiently and without any fuss.

Whilst being extremely busy he still found the time in between taking our orders to inquire how we where doing and how our day had been

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank 906shelleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beefeater Reading Gateway, General Manager at Beefeater Reading Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2022

called in for the eat as much as you like breakfast, shown to table immediately was told where to find everything, plenty of food to choose from, the food was hot not overcooked chef was smiley and cheerful ask if we needed anything more ,the only nit picks i had was plates were not warm and personally the sausages although were very tasty the skins were really tough maybe take skin of before cooking but this is just a feed back to help not a real criticism table cleared quickly of disused plates ,so well done to all the staff on ,pleasurable experience

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beefeater Reading Gateway, General Manager at Beefeater Reading Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2022

Good afternoon, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2022

Undoubtably the worst dining experience I have ever had.

We ate here all week as it was included as part of our stay in the attached hotel. Every evening we waited between 1 and 2 hours for our food. Cooked to the lowest standard of cooking possible, poor quality of food, cold and the orders were always wrong or not as described per the menu.

The waiters/waitresses provided a good service but were completely let down the the incompetence from the kitchen and poor management. The Manager was incredibly defensive and unable to improve the situation as the week progressed.

AVOID this place at all costs.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank User2638623870
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beefeater Reading Gateway, General Manager at Beefeater Reading Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2022

Good afternoon, thank you for your review. We apologize for your negative experience with us that week.
If you would like to discuss this further, please call us on 0118 207 5867. We would love to resolve this for you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beefeater Reading Gateway also viewed

 

Been to Beefeater Reading Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.