We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre Hotel which is really good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I stayed in this hotel for three nights with a Tour Group - 22 of us. The room was excellent - what I call a business room - smart, efficient, everything one needs to hand. The breakfasts were excellent - again quick and efficient for the busy person. The evening meals were prepared for us especially, as we ate at a set time each evening and ordered our food in advance. Again, really good with an adequate choice. The best thing about the hotel was the staff - very friendly, nothing too much trouble, ask and it was given - and super efficient. If you want a city hotel in the centre of Sheffield I can recommend this one for reliability, efficiency and friendliness.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect for our visit - only used as a base as sightseeing all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susanmduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopSheff, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you very much for the Five Star Review you left following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your generous comments about our hotel - we do try our very best and feedback like yours makes us feel very proud. I am particularly pleased to read your positive comments about the staff. I will be sure and put a copy of your review on our notice board.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Team Copthorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Went to this hotel for one night on Saturday it was extremely expensive 196 pounds for a disabled room the air conditioning would not stop so it was cold adding to my already bad athsma bar staff were ill mannered and only the food and beverage manager was helpful and courteous the breakfast was not acceptable as everything was running out not enough staff for such a busy place we will never stay there again

Room Tip: The Hilton is a better alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelle602017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopSheff, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for leaving a review following your recent stay with us.

I am clearly very concerned by the content in your feedback and would welcome the opportunity of speaking with you personally. Please feel free to contact me on tim.cadman@millenniumhotels.com.

In any case I will investigate your comments and where appropriate corrective action will be taken.

Kind regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel within a 20 minute walk of all the main city centre attractions. Free parking (rare in Sheffield). Well appointed rooms and helpful staff. Only drawback (assuming you are not a Sheffield United fan) is that it is right next to Bramhall Lane football ground so the traffic is murder if you're there on a match day. Also - bibles in the hotel rooms? What's that all about? Felt like I'd stepped back in time. Probably time to get rid of that outdated tradition.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Crazyladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopSheff, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for the Four Star Review you left following your recent stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that on the whole you were happy with your stay and thank you for your positive comments about the well appointed rooms and the helpful staff.

Commercially match days are very good for us however I do appreciate that it can be frustrating if you are here for non football related reasons. As for Bibles in the rooms - your feedback has been noted.

If you find yourself in Sheffield again I do hope that you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards

Team Copthorne

Kind regards

Team Copthorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend. A great hotel to stop in if your staying in Sheffield.
Our room was big and clean with everything needed.
Great breakfast even though it was crowded and we had to wait for a while.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mark68east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopSheff, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you very much for the Four Star Review you left following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that everything was to your liking with your room and that in spite of the wait your breakfast was great.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Team Copthorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here last night for a football match . The hotel it's self is well positioned and very beautiful inside . We had a club room which was fantastic with excellent amenities . The problem was the breakfast , after being seated we waiting 20 minutes for someone to offer tea and coffee . Still no one had come even though everyone else had been given these. We had our breakfast and still no tea and coffee 40 minutes later,
I went to see the moron on the desk who told me I had to get my own from the end of the bar . This must have only applied to me as nobody else had done this . When I was getting my cup to get my own tea and coffee to which I have never done in a 4 star hotel anywhere in the world , I was told so sit down and it will be brought to me.
So I did and waited another 10 minutes.
I then got up and asked the moron on the front desk and again he said I had to get my own . What !!!!!!!
I gave up and left the restaurant .
Absolute joke !

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Ukcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopSheff, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you very much for the four star review you left following your recent stay with us.

You have been very generous with your rating given the unacceptable service you experienced at breakfast. Please accept my apologies and rest assured that I will personally investigate your comments and corrective action will be taken.

Thank you for staying with us and please do consider us again should you find yourself in Sheffield again.

Kind regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.2 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,609 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
1.1 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,605 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#8 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $98 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing