We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barnfield House(Sheffield)
US$109
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Garrison Hotel(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$56
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
178
122
40
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
122
40
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeak districtpiepub foodstanage edgepeasnext morningfriendly hotelnight porterwedding partyan evening mealmy mumbed and breakfastfantastic locationfunction roomchecking inlarge roomfull english
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Being a Monday night we got a very good deal for a superior room ( worth paying more because while the window was not huge the views are great and on the quiet side of the hotel). We have known this place for over 50 years from when it was just a pub.It has been developed and improved over that time. Knowing the location we decided to stay over when visiting the theatre in Sheffield.It is an easy journey into the city as well as being on the doorstep of lovely walks and country side. The reception/check in was friendly and speedy.There was a warm , cosy feel to the place and all staff very keen to please. Our room was quite small for a superior room but fine for what we needed.Bright decor and room and ensuite clean.Very quiet. The bed mattress was too soft and 'wallowy' for our liking but may suit others.Nice bed linen and towels in the bathroom. Bathroom very small but adequate although no window and the extraction not good so the room quickly filled with steam when showering. There was a shower over the bath ( not adjustable height) but the shower head needed replacing because the water came out like from a tap rather than being sprayed out.Breakfast was well cooked and ample. Would stay here again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side. Go for a superior room.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review - we really appreciate the kind words.
The rate you paid for the superior room will have been the "last minute" rate, which applies to all bookings made within 14 days of your stay. This rate saves around £25 off the full rate.

Your comments re: the shower have been passed on and will be looked in to - thank you for making us aware of this.

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

fresh lovely fresh smells fresh looks fresh eats fresh people fresh dress fresh breath fresh nights fresh morning fresh legs fresh face fresh looks everything is fresh and hot anything you require is fresh everybody is fresh

Room Tip: fresh smells
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Fresh review!

Many thanks,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We came again for the second time to eat here and found it equally as good. The food was excellent and good value for money. They have a wide range of options from sandwiches to three course meals. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. Our dog was welcomed too!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank sanmarkmissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, it's much appreciated.
We hope you found the free dog snacks on the Walkers Bar for your furry companion - nobody goes hungry here!

Thanks again
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Relaxing stay here for two nights. It is an old coach house and has that old world charm about it. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, dinner also good. Plenty of parking and beautiful countryside. The bed was comfortable,a very good price, and we wished we had booked another night, but all rooms were gone. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor room on the end with two windows and views over carpark, moors.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mare170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Hi,

Thank you for your review - your feedback is very much appreciated.

Re: the coach house - We believe the original coach house was built in the early 1800's to serve weary travelers between Sheffield and Hathersage. The toll house dating to around 1758 stands across the road too - known locally as "The Roundhouse" - just a bit of info for anybody who read the review and wanted to know a little more!

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again soon,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Quiet and comfortable. Stopping for one night on way to a family event. Great to be back in Sheffield, friendly hotel. Full English breakfast superb. Value for money spot on. I would have liked a bigger bed, but I am a larger man! Mist over Ringinglow was of course magical.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolkArms, Responsible for online communications at The Norfolk Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Hi Colin,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, your kind words are much appreciated!

Some of our rooms have slightly bigger beds than others, so if you book with us again in future please let us know you would like a bigger bed and we'll see what we can do.

Thanks again

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews