We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monks Bridge Farm on a bad day?”

Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery
Ranked #236 of 1,562 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We visited this restaurant at around 6.00 pm on a Monday (having run the gauntlet of a group of people smoking outside the entrance) and, judging by the recent reviews, I can only assume that we had caught them on a bad day.

We ordered Lasagne and Steak & Kidney pudding. On my last visit to another of these Farmhouse Inns I had ordered the Lasagne and found it to be cold in the centre so the first thing I did when my meal arrived was to check if it was hot. Unfortunately, as in my previous experience the edges of the lasagne were hot but the centre was quite cool. I sent it back and, eventually, received another lasagne which I was happy with. My partner’s steak and kidney pudding was hot but he felt the suet pudding was a little on the dry side and his carrots could have been hotter.

Sadly, we were not the only customers who complained that evening. I don’t know what they had ordered but a couple sitting close by complained that some of the items listed as part of dishes on the menu were missing when their meals arrived. They were told that the kitchen had run out of these items but had failed to communicate this to the waiters.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TowingTinSnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, Manager at Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit with us at Monks bridge Farm.

We are saddened to hear that your visit was not up to our high standards on this occasion and for that we apologise.

We would love it if you could contact us to discuss the issues you faced on your visit at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Lewis - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

We turned up as a junior football team to celebrate our league win. The place was heaving as it was Sunday lunchtime. This wasn't a problem for Amy who sorted us out without fuss and made sure we were all happy with where we were seated. A few more bar staff would be useful though !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DALOWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, Manager at Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent visit to us at Monks bridge farm DALOWL

We are glad that Amy managed to look after your large party without any issues and will relay your comments with her.

hope to see you all very soon
best wishes

Lewis - Assistant Manaager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Today is the second time we have frequented this establishment. The choice of food is excellent. The staff are attentive but not in an excessive way. Great place.

Thank jblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, Manager at Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your recent visit.

As a relatively new customer it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us.

Your review will be shared with the team who will be pleased to hear your comments.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon for another visit.

Kind Regards
Jessica, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Staff were lovely. Establishment well maintained. Fridgerated pudding choice out of this world. Meals extremely good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, Manager at Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Chrissy,

It's great to hear such fantastic feedback about your visit!

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!

We look forward to seeing you again soon for more dessert.

Kind Regards
Jessica, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

this was our 1st visit, decided to call after shopping in dinnington, had the large fish and chips which was only a £1 more than the smaller , only just managed to eat it all! The carvery was very popular starting at £4. 99 for a small plate, will try that another time.

Thank lynwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicafrancis1987, Manager at Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to us.

Thank you for leaving us your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Jessica, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Todwick, Rotherham
 
Dinnington, Rotherham
 

Been to Monks Bridge Farm, Dining & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing