We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16th birthday ”

The Angel at Spinkhill
Ranked #28 of 1,562 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

visited last night with family and friends for our sons 16th birthday, this place is amazing, the service is 2nd to none and the food is to die for the steaks were all cooked exactly as asked and the cheesecake was to die for. we will definitely be back and recommending to all thankyou to all the staff for a great evening x

1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elm Tree E, Owner at The Angel at Spinkhill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you taking the time to write such a lovely review. Hopefully see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We visited this evening with our 20 month old son and had a lovely evening.

The steak was fantastic and Dean went out his way to make my husband gluten free onion rings, this made his day as he hasn't had any since been diagnosed with coeliacs

The tropical knickerbocker glory was a taste sensation

We will definitely be visiting again soon as we can't wait to taste the rest of the menu

Thank you

Thank Louisebid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Popped in by chance, had 2 courses each plus drinks with change from £40, so reviews saying poor value for money below are strange to say the least. Was at the Sitwell arms last weekend, no comparison, that was average and in comparison this was excellent. Both mains came as large portions, so that having had starters, we'd no room for puddings. The chicken was still moist and very tasty, the venison toad in the hold excellent. Will definitely come again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marytu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elm Tree E, Owner at The Angel at Spinkhill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review.

Hopefully see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Three generations of our English family (we live in California) visited this fairly newly restored pub and restaurant.

They had a number of pie "specials" on the menu the night we went - and they were great. I had the meat, with roasted side vegetables, others had the chicken and mushroom pie, with a side of broccoli.

For a slightly tucked away restaurant, their wine list was quite comprehensive. That plus three or four hand-pumped local beers, means there's enough variety to satisfy most tastes.

A slight complication with my US Visa card was quickly and honestly resolved by the restaurant management.

Overall, we all drove home agreeing that it was the best pub restaurant meal we'd had for quite some time.

Highly recommended!

Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

A friend and I visited for an early meal. A nice welcome and it was very great to find Kelham Easy Rider on draught.

Drinks were brought to our table and we perused the menu. Neither of us are 'penny pinchers' and always happy to pay a little extra for good food. The menu has some attractive dishes, however the general impression was that it was the top end of local prices.

I ordered a burger (£12) and my friend a chicken dish at a similar price. Service was mixed with the burger arriving with chips but the chicken dish delivered at the same time had to wait several minutes for its chips and sauce to arrive.

The food was fine but nothing special. The burger was homemade but little else made it memorable. The chips were disappointing, overcooked and looked a bit sad.

Our server came and asked the closed question "is everything OK ?" We responded honestly that it was "OK". You are never going to get meaningful feedback if "OK" is the objective standard. Asking if anything could have been improved might be more productive.

This all sounds negative and it wasn't a bad experience hence the Average (3*) rating.

Two mains a pint of bitter and a pint of Guiness £32.

Competition is high with seven pubs serving food in the immediate area. I would like to see this pub a success. However, average to poor value isn't going to survive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elm Tree E, Owner at The Angel at Spinkhill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we are constantly trying to improve.

Sad chips is not really the look we are going for, I will speak to all concerned and hopefully the experience for others won't reflect your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel at Spinkhill also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Angel at Spinkhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing