We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food ”
Review of Peacock

Peacock
Ranked #188 of 1,529 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

This is the third year we have called in here on our return from Christmas at Chatsworth. We have always enjoyed the food and this year was no exception. I had the festive burger and gingerbread cheesecake for desert - I thoroughly enjoyed both. Other members of our party also enjoyed their meals. I have two minor criticisms, firstly, a very poor selection of real ales. Secondly, it was a freezing cold day and it wasn’t the warmest in the pub - they need to stoke up the fire a bit!

Thank Jen_Andy_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Jen_Andy_Lawson

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're glad that you enjoyed the food! With regards to our real ales, these are on rotation, so although there was nothing to your taste this time, they do regularly change, so don't let it put you off!

Kind Regards
Andy C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

Good food when we got it sear ice was a bit slow and we felt a bit ignored between courses. The pub was nice a warm with open fires and the seating was comfortable sorrow to carry on but they require at least one hundred before I can rest

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Stubby747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We invited friends from away for a Christmas meal last Friday as we did last year. Last year was superb, food, service, lovely staff. This year a disaster. Only one poor fella service doing his best, Two wrong meals were delivered which meant the other two meals had to be kept warm. When the ducks breast were delivered they were extremely small and tough. My desert should have been warm with a chocolate sauce. The cake was lukewarm and no sauce was supplied. Result; apologies to our friends for a very disappointment and expensive meal. THE REVIEW REFERS TO THE CHRISTMAS MEAL AND THE MIXUP WITH THE FOOD DELIVERED.

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Averil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am disappointed to hear that you have had a bad experience with regards to your Christmas meal during your recent visit to The Peacock - It is our aim that every guest leaves happy. If you are willing to discuss this matter further please call me on 0114 236 1789 or email me on 6219@greeneking.co.uk.

Kind regards,
Andy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We went for a late lunch. The staff could not have been more pleasant, polite and obliging (despite three fussy people)! Oh that warmly welcoming fire that thawed your bones... And the food and drinks were excellent, too. No scraps for the cat or dog, I'm afraid!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Rose B

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again soon! (The fire's on all winter!)

Many Thanks
Andy C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

After a very long walk we had booked the Peacock for Sunday dinner as we usually get a great meal in lovely surroundings.

If you have not visited then I would do so as it is a really nice place, just don't be in a rush!

The service for a table of only 13 took for ever, probably waited 30 minutes for the first drinks to arrive and only managed 2 drinks throughout the whole meal as it was so slow.

Food was OK, not as good as usual, a number of people noted that their beef was too fatty and they couldn't eat it. Paying extra for a pig in a blanket was also quite a laughing point at the table, never had to pay for a single one before but there you go.

Will certainly go back again to give it another go as they have produced good food in the past and we do love the setting, will just go in a smaller group in future!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seasonedtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am disappointed to hear that you have had a bad experience during your recent visit to The Peacock - It is our aim that every guest leaves happy. If you are willing to discuss this matter further please call me on 0114 236 1789 or email me on 6219@greeneking.co.uk.

Kind regards,
Andy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peacock also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Thurgoland, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing