We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late stay”
Review of Hambrook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hambrook House
Ranked #4 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Lovely hotel, very warm welcome, excellent en-suite rooms, quiet, and superb breakfast. Top notch place to stay, and situated in a lovely part of Shrewsbury with a nice 10 minute walk to the town centre, parks, cafes, restaurants, also great for runs/walks along the river. Dingle gardens by Percy Thrower, magnificent this time of the year. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 9 - excellent views out the back over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

One of the best guest houses I've ever stayed in. A beautiful late-19th century house. Family-run. Ideally located on a quiet road, an easy 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. My wife and I stayed there for two nights with our young daughter and were made to feel very welcome and would certainly stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinendley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte364, Owner at Hambrook House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you very much for your review and we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to write this. We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Hambrook House is absolutely outstanding. Everything was perfect - a wonderful welcome from Kevin who explained everything we needed to know about their incredible home including a very useful shortcut into town. A 7 minute walk.
Our stylish room was perfect with top quality fittings, linen and furnishings. No expense had been spared in our King room with ensuite as well as the rest of the property. Everything was immaculately clean.
The garden was magnificent in its carefully manicured state. Hambrook House is situated in a very beautiful, quiet, tree lined street.
Charlotte, Kevin's wife was also extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions.
Hambrook House breakfasts were terrific; the fresh, flavoursome, high quality, local produce were well prepared by Kevin. Charlotte was a natural as our every need was met as she served our generous meal.
Hambrook House is a credit in all aspects to Charlotte and Kevin. They are to be commended for their availability, professionalism and friendliness. Their passion for their business and commitment to Shrewsbury is commendable in the manner they share with their guests.
FANTASTIC.
Sandi & Ken

Room Tip: All are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanni323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at Hambrook House a number of times over the past couple of years and never fail to be impressed. The rooms are beautifully decorated, impeccably clean and the beds are soooo comfortable. Charlotte and Kevin run a five star establishment without any stuffiness. It's so good, I'd like to move in permanently!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Hambrook House is a first rate B&B. The house is beautiful and the rooms super clean and comfortable. Each room has a modern bathroom and flat screen television. There are tea and coffee making supplies in each room. The house has been beautifully restored with elegance . The full English breakfast is delicious and served in a beautiful dining room with linen covered tables and wine glasses for juice. Charlotte and Kevin are very warm and welcoming. I have been coming here regularly for several years and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a lovely garden view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
1 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,208 reviews
6.5 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.1 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
0.9 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
5.7 km away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambrook House

Address: 13 Kennedy Road, Shrewsbury SY3 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: $173 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hambrook House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a beautiful ten minute walk from the centre of Shrewsbury, Hambrook House is a stunning Victorian Villa located in Shrewsbury's most elegant residential area. It has been lovingly restored with many original features including Minton tiles, fine stained glass windows and cast iron fireplaces. With plenty of off street parking, Hambrook House is an ideal place to stay if visiting this historic county town of Shropshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hambrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing