We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
163
159
86
60
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
159
86
60
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingsunday lunchpleasant hotelwedding receptionstaff were brilliantone night staytown centrebooked this hotelcooked breakfastshort breakan overnight staybiscuitsevening mealenjoyable stayfollowing morningfull englishgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for a wedding - catering was excellent and efficient. Room however was tired and the mattress very hard ( so much so I developed back ache) plenty of room to house a king size bed - why have doubles when a king size would fit easily - especially as the room was exceptionally hot!!! Like a previous reviewer the sink was cracked in the bathroom and the water scalding but we managed. On the plus side the price was good and the breakfast good value. Not the hotels fault but there was a crowd of raucous revellers from a funeral party who dominated the lounge and restaurant area on the first night of the stay and deterred us from having more than one course! Would consider again but won’t rush back if an alternative was available at a similar price.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank magwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Spent one night here and no complaints. We had a room in the lodge, not the actual hotel but it was a good size, tea/coffee facilities, lots of storage space and it’s own bathroom. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarahd8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Before we booked this one night stay, we read many reviews from contented guests at the Lord Hill Hotel at Shrewsbury but our stay was less than perfect. We informed the hotel that we were going to be late and eventually arrived around 22.10. We had to go into the bar to locate a member of staff to book us in. We were very tired after a long day and on finding our room No 32 The Lodge, we immediately went to bed.
At 07.15 on Sunday my partner tried to run a bath but there was only scalding hot water no cold and the bath plug didnt work. The shower couldnt be used either as the water was exceptionally hot. We called reception via internal phone but no success so I rang the hotel from my mobile and made a complaint. Excuses followed and after 10 mins or so a house keeper turned up to confirm our problem. There were no alternative rooms available but if we were prepared to wait an hour or two she would find us another room. We declined this as we didnt have the time to wait. On leaving the Lord Hill we were offered a 20% discount from our £100 bill, we thought this was not enough but there wasnt a Manager on duty who could offer more. We called back at approx 14.35 and spoke to Carl the Manager who was expecting our call and was aware of our complaint and offered a further 10% discount but no more. The rooms are sometimes offered @ £50 but he refused to move on his offer. So we paid £70 for an unsatisfactory stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We got a late deal told the hotel it was our anniversary break, on arrival they had upgraded us free of charge,room was an executive room and and glorious bathroom,room was spacious,clean and plenty of storage space,we stayed three nights and the breakfast was superb with plenty of choice,would go back again,also had a local pub opposite which we found to be great too.

Room Tip: room 208 is what we had
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbieanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Took wife and daughters out for dinner, great food, great service, also witnessed staff dealing extremely professionally with arrogant senior customers.........
All menu was well explained and delivered, experience first class.
Bar staff, (Megwin i think) exceptional

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews