We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday celebrations”
Review of Brasserie Brunel

Brasserie Brunel
Ranked #152 of 612 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Brassiere Brunel – casual dining in a French style brasserie setting with a menu to match,Our newly refurbished restaurant is located in the lovely Grade II listed building designed by the famous architect Isambard Kingdom Brunel and we have named our new dining venue in tribute to this famous designer.The decor and furnishings have been modelled on a traditional Parisian brasserie and the menu features a number of French specialities together with grills, including steaks, for which we are renowned. Wherever possible our food is sourced locally including our steaks from the highly respected Church Farms and the majority of dishes are freshly produced by a first class team of cooks. The menu represents excellent value for money and in addition to the extensive range of very competitively priced a la carte dishes we also offer two fixed price menu options namely, £9.95 for 2 courses and £12.95 for 3 courses.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Booked 3 course fixed menu as part of a 2 day spa package with Bailbrook Lodge. The service was excellent with very friendly staff. Choice on the fixed menu was great although you can order from extensive menu and pay the extra.Food was served promptly and nothing was left on the plate!!! Thank you for a lovely evening.3

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angel482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Thank you very much for your 50th birthday celebrations review and for awarding us 5 stars

I am delighted that you enjoyed our great value fixed price menu and all in all it was a lovely evening

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

Staff are lovely and very helpful, food and wine were very enjoyable. Had an excellent evening meal. Breakfast the next morning was first rate too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Many thanks for your review and for your lovely compliments regarding the food and wine which you enjoyed with us and also our friendly staff, to whom we have been pleased to pass on your kind comments

We look forward to seeing you again.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We were a party of eight who decided to visit the Brunel based on a recommendation of a friend. The service was first class and the quality of all the meals was excellent. If there was one negative, that would be that the fish that three of the ladies ordered ( I recall it was plaice ) was a surprisingly small portion even for ladies. Nevertheless, as I said earlier, the quality was excellent and we would visit again if we were in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sparky1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you very much for your review and for awarding us 5 stars.

I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your meals at Brasserie Brunel.

With regards to the one negative issue, the size of the plaice, I have taken note of this and we will ensure that if in future the fillets of plaice tend to be a little small, which can be the case depending on the time of year, we will add an extra fillet to ensure that the portion is as it always should be as far as we are concerned, generous – thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Given that you were recommended to dine with us by a friend, hopefully you will be good enough to recommend us to others and we do hope that when you are next in the area you will pay us another visit.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
94
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

A pleasant find opposite Bath Spa Station. The bar and restaurant staff were very attentive and shared a joke with us. The meal was unexpectedly excellent, particularly the mussels and Thai tiger prawns. Nothing to complain about - particularly the bill.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for awarding us 5 stars

I am delighted that our food exceeded your expectations and that you found your visit to Brasserie Brunel represented good value.

I do hope that we can welcome you back on a future occasion.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Pleasant surroundings. Good staff. Menu adequate but not too exciting. Food cooked well and served hot. Extra sauces brought quickly when I asked for more gravy and custard. No problem.

Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for your review and awarding us 5 stars

I am very pleased to note your compliments regarding the quality of the food and our staff.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Brunel also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Brunel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing