We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nachos and Margaritas!!!”
Review of Las Iguanas

Las Iguanas
Ranked #69 of 596 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

I was impressed with the Mexican food from Las Iguanas! The nachos were perfectly layered unlike most other Mexican places in the Uk. The drinks were on point as well! Inrique our server made sure to keep the drinks coming!

Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2015

We visited this establishment on Friday 18th December at about 18-15. We were shown to a table and then ignored for 15 minutes. Staff just stood by the til chatting. We tried to indicate we were ready but no menus were forthcoming. After 15 minutes we gave up and left. The staff thanked us for our custom which I felt was very sarcastic. We have eaten here before and the food is not bad but the service was terrible. Bath is great for eating so will not be bothering with this place again anytime soon.

    • Service
Thank Darny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasIguanasHQ, Manager at Las Iguanas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Hello, we're very sorry to hear you felt ignored on your recent visit. We always provide our guests with menus upon showing you to your table to provide you with enough time to look through our extensive menu and ask our staff any questions you may have. I'm sorry on this occasion you have not experienced our restaurant at its best. We are keen to hear a little more about your visit. Please email lisa@iguanas.co.uk with your Tripadvisor ID, contact no. and name. Many thanks, Lisa - Las iguanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

A very busy and efficiently run restaurant in Bath town centre where we'd booked a family Christmas gathering for seven of us for lunch. There is an extensive gluten-free menu as well as a wide-ranging veggie menu which perfectly suited two of our party and the general menu had more than enough great choices for the rest of us. The tapas for sharing are excellent, the Brie/mango empanadas being a special favourite. The service was slick even though the place was packed with pre-Christmas diners, and we would certainly return to try out the wide range of cocktails available in the extensive 'Happy Hour' and other delights on the menu. There are even plain burgers for the few non-Mexican foodies.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidFOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

My friend recently enjoyed some birthday cocktails here on Saturday. There was an extensive cocktails list to chose from so we were spoiled for choice. Lots of these were on a 'Happy Hour' menu which meant 241 at certain times. It would be rude not to take them up on that offer! I did not eat here, but my friends had some tapas before I arrived and said it was very tasty. The only thing which could be improved was the speed of service. It did not actually matter to us as we were in no rush, but one barman was trying to make lots of cocktails alone meaning a wait of 10-15 mins for a drink at times. You never know, we might have drunk even more if you had been quicker!

Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Very surprised at the quality of the food, the staff and the value for money. We have not, up till now had a good experience of Mexican food in the UK. My husband's steak was delicious. The rest of our meals were really good and the drinks 2 for 1 were amazing value. Lastly the coconut pudding was to die for. HAd to share it as it was so rich. Need the recipe!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasIguanasHQ, Manager at Las Iguanas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Hi Laura, thank you for your lovely comments, we're so pleased to hear you were impressed with your experience. I am pleased to let you know that I can provide you with our recipe for the Tembleque, if you would like to email lisa@iguanas.co.uk with your Trip advisor ID, I will gladly arrange for this to be sent onto you. Best wishes, Lisa - Las Iguanas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Iguanas also viewed

 

Been to Las Iguanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing