We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,291)
Filter reviews
1,291 results
Traveller rating
324
484
297
113
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
484
297
113
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop pole inn wedding venue lovely old building buffet style minute drive bit dated lovely hotel water pressure local pub kippers stayed for one night two night stay short break tea and coffee lovely room visit bath bath city centre
Filter
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 1,291 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

On arrival, booking in was fine and quick and easy. There was a wedding on at the hotel and it wasn't mentioned how late it would go on until. We were given the WIFI code but it was not explained how to access it or how to add the code. Neither my partner or I could access the wifi all weekend. On Saturday morning, we hadn't pre booked breakfast but when coming down to eat, we were seated and after being brought coffee were left alone, we weren't asked if there was anything we wanted to order. On Saturday we didn't go out till late and so put the cleaning hanger on the door when we went out. When we came back the room had been cleaned but the room door had been left on the latch with all our stuff on display in the room. The receptionist apologised and said she would speak to housekeeping but seemed more concerned as to whether the room had in fact been cleaned or not. The second night there was another wedding which was much louder than the first night. A little pre warning from the hotel would have been nice. So as my title says a lovely setting with a lovely view but a let down in some other areas.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 589kirstend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear Kirsten D

Thank you for talking some time to write a review following your recent stay, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience and below expectation levels of service encountered during your stay with us. I would like to take a moment to explain that the hotel is currently and has been for the past three weeks been having the complimentary guest WiFi upgraded and this should be completed by the end of this week, I do however understand that this does not make up for any drop in customer service or the consistency of the WiFi being replaced. I would also like to apologise on behalf of the housekeeping team for the oversight of not ensuring your guest room door was fully secure when leaving the room after refreshing it, I can assure you that I have personally spoken with the lead housekeeper, who also sends her apologies and assures me that this was indeed an isolated incident and that it will not happen again.

Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us how you enjoyed your stay and what we could do to improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel.

Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We booked the hotel for a 2 night break to visit Bath. You do need a sat nav to find the hotel as a bit out of the way. It's situated in beautiful surroundings, and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was fine with comfy beds and pleasantly decorated. Food lovely and served in pretty restaurant overlooking gorgeous views. They have a balcony area and you can have a drink and look at the lovely views. Didnt feel just a number in this large hotel as they made us feel very welcome! We used the Park & Ride at Odd Downs which is about 14 mins from hotel as parking in Bath is pricey. Loved Bath, the Abbey, Historic Baths, and Bath & Wells Cathedral.

Room Tip: Best views
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loverugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Dear loverugby

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities as we would like for all our guests to enjoy and experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the management and staff at the hotel and I know they will be just as pleased as I was to read your review.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please contact the hotel directly or via our website should you require accommodation in the area again so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Booked this hotel as were visiting family in Bath and we frequently use Best Western hotel. It is a beautiful building in a wonderful setting . We stayed in a comfortable room but agreed with other comments made re the lack of storage if you were staying for a few nights and my husband also agreed with the issue of nowhere to put toiletries, and giving only one pack of biscuits was rather on the mean side especially taking into account the charges. The lounge and bar are attractive areas and although we did not eat in the hotel in the evening, the menus sounded varied and reasonably priced . However, if you chose bar meals all tables in both rooms are low coffee style which making eating meals difficult for some people. We did have breakfast which was absolutely delicious, plenty of choices to suit all tastes - superb quality bacon! My only comment here would be we felt the dining room lacked any atmosphere and was rather uninviting especially the first area you enter. However, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Dear Jennifer W

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel and for taking some time to write a review.

Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us how you enjoyed your stay and what we could do to improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel.

Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the city of Bath.
Our booking in advance was for room only , so we did not actually dine in the hotel , choosing to eat in Bath itself.
Our room , 49 ,was adequate , a little dated perhaps but nonetheless clean and tidy and the queen bed was comfortable.
As a Best Western Hotel, there is the usual plastic tumbler , for water , the carefully counted tea bags and coffee sachets ( from a brand never heard of ) and the usual "narrow guage" toilet paper....oh and of course only one packet of biscuits for us to share.
Overall, a reasonable hotel. Seemingly very popular with senior citizens , and one could almost be forgiven for thinking it has a certain "care home" feel about it.
Would probably shop around for an alternative if visiting region again.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Dear Alan A

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel and for taking some time to write a review.

Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us how we could have improved your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel.

Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Very disappointed in Room 52. There were a few very small drawers in the bedroom and only a small alcove to hang things. Also there was only 1 narrow shelf over the toilet in the bathroom and nowhere else to put anything - we had to put the washbag on the floor!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear Ann F

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking some time to write a review.

I would like to take this opportunity for not completely exceeding your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our hotel offers various room types and sizes which is mainly due to the original Georgian architecture, I am very sorry that on this occasion your stay was not as expected. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us how we could have improved your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel.

Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews