We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
334
489
298
114
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
489
298
114
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop pole inn wedding coordinator wedding venue buffet style minute drive bit dated lovely building water pressure local pub kippers one night stay tea and coffee short break visit bath bath city centre canal avon
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We chose this hotel as we were staying on a bank holiday weekend and the hotel prices in Bath itself were prohibitive. I was at first concerned that we might be quite a distance from Bath itself, but on arrival, the peace and tranquillity of the hotel and surroundings far outweighed the distance from Bath (10 mins in a taxi as bus service not operating at the minute), that in fact, instead of going into Bath on the first night, we ended up having a drink and meal at the Hop Pole Inn at the end of the drive.

I have read negative reviews about the hotel on this site, but, to be frank, find them a bit unfair. It is a beautiful 300 year old building and any negatives there may be about room size, rickety lifts, outdated carpets are far outweighed by the tranquil surroundings, beautiful building and friendly staff.

We did not dine in the hotel, but if the food in the dining room is anything like breakfast it will be very good.

We will be back.

Room tip: Room 28 is very comfortable and has wonderful views
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Vicki M

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read that both you found the hotel perfectly located and full of character. Many of our guest rooms offer wonderful views out over the local countryside and it is always a pleasure to read when our guests have had the opportunity to experience the area of outstanding natural beauty where we are lucky enough to be located.

I will be certain to pass on your comments to all of the dedicated team at the hotel that helped make your stay so enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope that you will consider staying with us again when next in the area and should you require accommodation in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website so that we may personally assist you and assure you of our low rate guarantee and another enjoyable and memorable stay.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

A last minute stay whilst meeting up with friends over from Canada in Bath. Couldn't find a room in Bath itself, so chose this hotel and it was GOOD (but not very good!!!). It's only a 10/15 minute drive from the centre of Bath and so well placed to take in everything that Bath has to offer. The receptionist was very helpful and offered us a choice of rooms. The room we chose, No 52, was not huge and not particularly well appointed as it was at the rear of the hotel over looking a 'prefab' building, but it was perfectly acceptable, clean and with everything needed and a comfortable bed. We were going to be late back so literally just wanted somewhere to rest our heads!!! Breakfast was a typical buffet style full English which again was GOOD and gave us the start to the day that we needed. Would we stay again? Yes.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAR4898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear GAR4898

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us and helps us maintain and improve our standards and services and I will be discussing your comments with the management team here at the hotel so that we can continue to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thank you for choosing our Georgian period property for your stay in the Bath area and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Should you require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or visit our website as we would like to assist with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Kindest regards and thanks
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

We got married here in May 2014 and the day was absolutely perfect. The service we received from start (on booking) to finish was superb, we couldn't of asked for more. Katie (the wedding coordinator then) was brilliant and so helpful. The day ran so smoothly and all of the guests said how wonderful the hotel and staff were and how great the day was. After such a wonderful experience, we decided to come back to the hotel to spend our first anniversary there. Once again, the service was fantastic. The meal we had in the evening was delicious and perfectly cooked. Room was lovely and again, very helpful and friendly staff. Will defiantly be back and would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank H_mays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear H_mays

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your special day in May last year.

I was delighted to read that your return visit met and exceeded your expectations and that once again the dedicated team here at the hotel could help enhance your stay with their helpful and friendly approach. I will be sure to share your comments with the management and staff and I know they will be as pleased as I was to read your review.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel for your stay in the Bath area and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Should you require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or visit our website as we would like to assist with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Kindest regards and thanks
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

On arrival, booking in was fine and quick and easy. There was a wedding on at the hotel and it wasn't mentioned how late it would go on until. We were given the WIFI code but it was not explained how to access it or how to add the code. Neither my partner or I could access the wifi all weekend. On Saturday morning, we hadn't pre booked breakfast but when coming down to eat, we were seated and after being brought coffee were left alone, we weren't asked if there was anything we wanted to order. On Saturday we didn't go out till late and so put the cleaning hanger on the door when we went out. When we came back the room had been cleaned but the room door had been left on the latch with all our stuff on display in the room. The receptionist apologised and said she would speak to housekeeping but seemed more concerned as to whether the room had in fact been cleaned or not. The second night there was another wedding which was much louder than the first night. A little pre warning from the hotel would have been nice. So as my title says a lovely setting with a lovely view but a let down in some other areas.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 589kirstend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear Kirsten D

Thank you for talking some time to write a review following your recent stay, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience and below expectation levels of service encountered during your stay with us. I would like to take a moment to explain that the hotel is currently and has been for the past three weeks been having the complimentary guest WiFi upgraded and this should be completed by the end of this week, I do however understand that this does not make up for any drop in customer service or the consistency of the WiFi being replaced. I would also like to apologise on behalf of the housekeeping team for the oversight of not ensuring your guest room door was fully secure when leaving the room after refreshing it, I can assure you that I have personally spoken with the lead housekeeper, who also sends her apologies and assures me that this was indeed an isolated incident and that it will not happen again.

Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us how you enjoyed your stay and what we could do to improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly or via our website so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel.

Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We booked the hotel for a 2 night break to visit Bath. You do need a sat nav to find the hotel as a bit out of the way. It's situated in beautiful surroundings, and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was fine with comfy beds and pleasantly decorated. Food lovely and served in pretty restaurant overlooking gorgeous views. They have a balcony area and you can have a drink and look at the lovely views. Didnt feel just a number in this large hotel as they made us feel very welcome! We used the Park & Ride at Odd Downs which is about 14 mins from hotel as parking in Bath is pricey. Loved Bath, the Abbey, Historic Baths, and Bath & Wells Cathedral.

Room tip: Best views
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loverugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Dear loverugby

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities as we would like for all our guests to enjoy and experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the management and staff at the hotel and I know they will be just as pleased as I was to read your review.

Thank you for choosing the Limpley Stoke Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please contact the hotel directly or via our website should you require accommodation in the area again so that we may personally assist you with any future reservations and assure you of our low rate guarantee.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews