We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous YMCA in Bath”
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath YMCA
Ranked #12 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Gloucester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous YMCA in Bath”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Wonderful, clean, place to stay in Bath. Less than half the price of hotels for private room. All the staff are really friendly. Hostel is central in the city ,so easy to visit all the attractions that Bath has to offer.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly: the breakfast is wonderful. If you can afford a coulpe of pounds you can even have a full English breakfast.


Visited this lovely hostel twice and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    130
    77
    34
    6
See reviews for
31
51
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

If you are looking for a great value (about 30 pounds a night) in a single room in Bath this is a wonderful option. Single bedroom with a sink, desk, closet space, and no television. Shared bathroom/showers, but clean and I never had to wait for a shower stall. Free WiFi available in the lobby area, and internet option for those without their own computer. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. This YMCA accepts all ages. Breakfast (cold) included, and hot meal for small price. If shared bathroom/shower facilities not a problem for you, this is an ideal option based on the prices for most accomodations in Bath. Hotel about a 7-10 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It's a decent average hostel. Their main selling points are the rates and accessibility to Bath town center. We had a private room, shared facilities. The electric sockets didn't work, but we were there for only one night, so we didn't bother following up. They charge for left luggage, even if it's for half a day... and we felt that was a bit of nickel-and-diming.
Also, it's very difficult to find this place first time around. There is a really small board that points you the alley from the main road. I wish they would fix that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KosTravelisLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Three of us stayed one night here during a week long tour of England. Overall the rooms were basic and sufficient but the biggest annoyance was finding an outlet. We couldn't find one anywhere in the room or the shared washroom. There was only one in the room for razors only. Then to make matters a bit more frustrating we left our hairdryer in the room (our own fault) but when we called them back while on the road they said it wasn't in the room...so it remains a mystery. The wifi is available in the common area and it was nice that board games are available to play which was a good time in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereToToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Y in Bath is near the town centre, but a long way from the Station. It is up a long street. Or up a lot of steps if you take the wrong road.
I book a single room, but you can have a bunk in a dormitory. The rooms are sparse, single bed, no kettle, and toilet/shower room down the corridor. There is no lift and no kitchen, so have your money ready if you want a meal or make a coffee.
The prices are reasonable compared to other Bath Hotels. The wi fi is free, but you pay to use their computers. A light breakfast is included in the bill, and you only pay a little more for a cooked breakfast..
The staff are helpfull and friendly, the other guests are many and numerous, the old and lonely go there to eat, and the seagulls are awake very early.
A good place to stay.

Room Tip: A bedroom is a room with a bed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeinmalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,741 reviews
0.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.2 km away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Property: Bath YMCA
Address: International House Broad Street Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price range (per night): $49 - $99
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bath YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing