We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day tour to Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock and Castle Combe”
Review of Mad Max Tours

Mad Max Tours
Ranked #2 of 64 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mad Max Tours offer small group day tours from Bath to Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, Lacock Village, Avebury Stone Circles, Wells & Glastonbury. Specifically for independent travellers, our personal, informative service operates daily all year with a maximum group size of 16. Explore this beautiful countryside, amazing sites and fascinating history on one of our award winning tours. Our guides are all local, engaging, entertaining and passionate about history. They have extensive knowledge about the area, film locations in the places we visit (these include Harry Potter, Jane Austen , War Horse, Fantastic Beasts and many TV dramas). Pick up and drop off is in Bath city centre, close to the station and hotels/guesthouses. We pride ourselves on our customer service, quality tours and safety record. See our Tripadvisor reviews for confirmation! With almost 30 years of experience we love what we do and would love to share these amazing places with you! Book today.
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Barry is an excellent driver and guide. He is very informative, funny and attentive. Thanks to him, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Thank Cyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you Cyn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour with Barry. Thank you for taking the time to review.

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"full day tour"
in 148 reviews
"lacock and castle combe"
in 136 reviews
"stonehenge tour"
in 88 reviews
"great tour"
in 116 reviews
"harry potter"
in 46 reviews
"day trip"
in 101 reviews
"avebury stone circles"
in 32 reviews
"guide kevin"
in 19 reviews
"chalk horses"
in 17 reviews
"silbury hill"
in 13 reviews
"small bus"
in 27 reviews
"small group"
in 55 reviews
"small tour"
in 14 reviews
"cheddar gorge"
in 18 reviews
"excellent driver"
in 14 reviews
"white horse"
in 18 reviews
"english countryside"
in 31 reviews
Filter

84 - 88 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018

I accompanied a Russian friend on the Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock, Castle Cary tour. She really enjoyed it, as did I. Guide/driver was excellent, good knowledge of the history of the places visited. Central pick-up point in Bath. Comfortable transport. Persuaded some German relations to take this tour last month and they both said how great it was. Thoroughly recommend to all visitors who want to experience our beautiful part of the country.

Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you so much Geoff - and further thanks for recommending us to your friends. We love taking locals and visitors alike as there is so much to see and learn about the places we visit and the scenery in between. It's lovely to explore what's on our doorsteps as well as going further afield!

We hope we can welcome you on another tour soon.

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This was a great tour. Charles, our guide and driver, was on time, caring, and informative. We were able to cover so much ground because of the smaller van size and limited number of people. The country side was beautiful and the information about Stonehenge is truly something to appreciate. Thank you!

Thank sanmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Well thank you, Sam :-) It's lovely for us to know that guests have really enjoyed their tour with us and Charles will be delighted. Thank you for choosing Mad Max Tours!

All good wishes,

Charles and the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

My family went on Stonehenge, Avebury & Villages tour at the end of July. Pick up location for the tour was easy to find. Our tour guide Barry was very friendly, knowledgeable and a careful driver. The tour is well planed. We departed early to beat the crowds at Stonehenge. The opportunity to touch ancient stones at Averbury was priceless. For me, the best part of the tour were the quaint and sleepy English villages. If you are visiting Bath, I highly recommend spending a day with Mad Max Tours.

Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Lena,

Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for choosing Mad Max Tours. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Barry - he will be delighted to know you enjoyed your day so much. Thank you for recommending us too.

We hope we can welcome you again soon.

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My mum and I went on the whole day trip to Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock and Castle Combe. We had such a great day from start to finish. Our driver and tour guide John was friendly, knowledgeable, funny and simply a true gentleman. Stonehenge was just amazing. We had two hours here but given that I spent so much time just staring at the wonder of the stones and taking pictures, we didn't have much time to see the visitors centre. I will definitely make a point of going back to walk the trails and visit the exhibitions. The journeys between stops offered insight into little villages and the surrounding beautiful countryside. We loved the pretty village of Castle Combe. Thanks to John for great driving and plenty of information. I would definitely recommend Mad Max tours and if I return to Bath, I will be taking one of the other trips!

Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Jacqueline,

We look forward to welcoming you again! On behalf of John and the team, many thanks for your kind words and for recommending us, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bath as much.

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Max Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mad Max Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing