We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Stonehenge and Avebury”
Review of Mad Max Tours

Mad Max Tours
Ranked #2 of 65 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Mad Max we offer small group day tours from Bath, specifically for independent travellers. This is a personal, informative service which operates daily with a maximum group size of 16 people. Our day tours are available throughout the year and cover destinations such as Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, Lacock Village, Avebury Stone Circles,Wells & Glastonbury. Explore this beautiful countryside and fascinating history on one of our award winning tours. Our guides are all local, and passionate about history. They have extensive knowledge about the area, film locations in the places we visit (which include Harry Potter, Jane Austen films, War Horse, Fantastic Beasts and many TV dramas) Pick up and drop off is in Bath city centre, close to the station and hotels/guesthouses. We pride ourselves on our customer service, quality tours and safety record. See our Tripadvisor reviews for confirmation! With almost 30 years of experience we love what we do and love to show you these amazing places.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Colin was an excellent guide and got us to Stonehenge before the masses. Took us back roads to see the white horses and thatched villages. Avebury was the very best! Overall great full day of touring in very comfortable bus.

Thank robinanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Robin. Avebury is wonderful and we love the white horses too!

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"full day tour"
in 145 reviews
"lacock and castle combe"
in 132 reviews
"stonehenge tour"
in 88 reviews
"great tour"
in 114 reviews
"harry potter"
in 45 reviews
"day trip"
in 99 reviews
"avebury stone circles"
in 31 reviews
"guide kevin"
in 19 reviews
"chalk horses"
in 16 reviews
"silbury hill"
in 13 reviews
"small bus"
in 27 reviews
"small group"
in 52 reviews
"small tour"
in 14 reviews
"excellent driver"
in 13 reviews
"cheddar gorge"
in 16 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 12 reviews
"white horse"
in 17 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Before arriving in Bath I was wondering how, without driving..I would be able to get out to Avebury, Stonehenge & the Cotswolds etc. I am So delighted I found Mad Max! Everything I wanted to see in one day! My guide Fergie was personable, funny, & a great host! Arriving at Stonehenge before the crowds was great. Wish we had a little more time in Castle Coombe to explore, but ample time in Laycock was brilliant. Maddie the owner really has a great range of tours on offer here. Already want to return & do more!! Fergie (& Maddie & company)..please come to Ireland for a tour! Thanks for playing Solsbury hill on our decent into Batheaston b.t.w. Bath is Beautiful..but you need to get out for a day & see the sights with Mad Max! Would have been Perfect with a bit more music, ie Fairport, Steeleye Span etc. Look forward to seeing you folks again & thanks for everything! Richard.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Richard!

Will pass on the music recommendations to Fergie!! Ireland is a little far to take guests on a day trip from Bath...but we do love it! Will put it on the list for places to expand to!!

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently did THREE tours in 5 days with Mad Max Tours out of Bath. The first two tours were with newer vans but the third tour was with an older van that probably needs some suspension work as it was "bumpy". The tour guides were all very good and we truly enjoyed all their commentaries. The tours of Cotswolds and Avebury were great, as was the tour with Nick to Glastonbury and Wells. Nick provided us some cheese ( from Cheddar) as well as some local apple cider for taste. I will not hesitate to book tours with this company again. They limit their numbers to no more than 16 people---very manageable and no significant waiting times at all the stops. They are also very conscious of making appropriate restroom stops. Great company Maddy!

Thank KB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

3 tours in 5 days! Delighted to know you enjoyed them all - apologies if one was a bit bumpy - not sure why that was the case. The cheddar cheese and cider are local specialities so it's great to know you enjoyed those. We look forward to welcoming you again on a 4th Mad Max Tour!

All good wishes,

The Mad Max Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My only issue is that we had to have breakfast very early to make it to the pick-up time and then lunch was very late in the tour. Kevin was a great tour guide. If I did this tour again, I would do the half day tour and not the full day tour.

Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jackie,

Thank you for your review. The half day tour is certainly an alternative, but doesn't take in all the sites that the full day tour does, so you have to choose what to miss!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit.

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

My family booked two tours with Mad Max during our stay in Bath. Tour 2 (Cotswolds Experience with Andy ) and Tour 3 (Glastonbury, Wells & Cheddar Gorge with Tim S.) We had a wonderful day on both tours. Our guides were friendly, knowledgeable and cautious drivers. Tim, especially, had a passion for sharing interesting stories about our destinations. We visited places that we would not have ventured to on our own, if we were doing the driving. The tours are convenient, relaxing, comfortable and proceed at a nice pace. There is a good balance of time spent in and out of the bus. The vehicles are air conditioned (perfect because we visited during the heat wave) and ideal for traveling. Our teenage daughters loved it. The destinations are so unique and picturesque. Each location on both tours has its own distinctive flavor and characteristics. Highlights for us were Wells Cathedral (Tour 4) and gardens, climbing to the top of Glastonbury Tur (Tour 4) and the lunch stop at Stowe on the Wold (Tour 2). After selecting which tour to take, I would recommend reading a bit about each place to maximize your time spent there, as some stops are somewhat brief. Overall we had a terrific experience on both Mad Max Tours. I would not hesitate to book again if we ever return to the area.

Thank LMVAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMMT, Public Relations Manager at Mad Max Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hello,

Very many thanks for your lovely review. It sounds as though you enjoyed both days equally and enormously! Wells Cathedral is spectacular - we agree! We look forward to welcoming you again if you return. Thank you too for recommending us.

All good wishes,

Mad Max Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Max Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mad Max Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing