We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnuts House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Dukes Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Reviews (962)
    Filter reviews
    962 results
    Traveller rating
    904
    51
    6
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    904
    51
    6
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsb bceiling faneggs benedictoff street parkingcity centrehenrietta parkdvd playerthe ground floorcooked to perfectionamazing breakfastminute walkquiet locationpulteney bridgebed and breakfastfresh fruitvisit bathstayed for nights
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    442 - 447 of 962 reviews
    Reviewed 24 March 2012

    Simply one of the best b&b we have stayed in. We were made to feel at home the moment we arrived. The room was immaculately clean, with every comfort considered and the shower was both hot and powerful. Toni was extremely helpful providing us with lots of advice on what to see and where to eat. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic served in a light airy dining room. The whole place feels very homely what more does anyone want. Would highly recommend.

    Room Tip: try the eggs benedict
    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Brian M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 March 2012

    We visited Bath to celebrate our anniversary and stayed at Chestnuts House for one night only during Spring. The B&B is situated just off the busy main road and about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town. On arrival we parked on the drive and was met inside by a young lady who was pleasant enough and gave us a map of the area with suggested places to visit/eat etc. This was the only real contact with our hosts besides when they took our breakfast order the following morning and when we paid our bill on departure, which was disappointing because we thought from previous reviews they would be friendlier. Maybe that is the trouble with staying just the one night, you don't really get to meet the owners properly.

    The house is immaculate and tastefully furnished throughout. Our room was situated next to the guest lounge off of the main reception hall where visitors check in/out. It overlooked the front of the house and at the back, patio doors led onto a decking/seating area in the garden which we unfortunately couldn't use because it was raining on our arrival. It was very clean, extremely spacious with a large comfy bed, an easy chair, dressing table, plenty of storage, flat screen TV, wi-fi and tea/coffee tray etc. The ensuite bathroom was enormous and exceptionally clean with wall-mounted hairdryer, high quality towels and toiletries for your use. Overall the bedroom was very comfortable, didn't feel at all cramped and had everything you needed for a relaxed stay. The downside was because we were located right next to the main communal areas ie, reception hall and lounge, we felt we had little privacy with people coming and going and therefore needed to speak in hushed voices as our conversation would be overheard. Also, being at the front of the house and near to the busy main road there was A LOT of traffic noise throughout the night (there seemed to be lots of sirens going off) which disturbed our sleep and we were woken very early. We therefore had very little sleep which is not a good start when you have a long, busy day of sight seeing ahead of you!

    Breakfast was served in the bright and airy conservatory with plenty of choice including various fruit juices, pastries, fresh fruit salad, greek yogurt, cereals, (homemade?) granola, eggs benedict, omelette, smoked salmon with scrambled egg and full English. The breakfast was very good, nicely presented and probably the highlight of our stay at Chestnuts House.

    We would like to stay here again if we make a return visit to Bath but would maybe ask for a quieter room and hopefully get to know/talk with our hosts next time, afterall, I always thought the point of staying in B&B's/Guest Houses compared to large hotels is that you receive a more personal service. It did what it's supposed to do in that it provided us with a bed and breakfast - no more, no less and to summarise, although we had a pleasant stay a few things spoilt it for us, traffic noise being the main problem.

    Room Tip: Don't stay in the room off of reception next to the lounge unless you are a very heavy sleeper, as the traffic noise is loud especially early in the morning.
    • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Happy_Hols_4810
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Chestnutshouse, Owner at Chestnuts House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

    Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate the time and trouble taken by you to write such a detailed report following your stay in the spring of 2011.



    We were delighted to read all your positive comments with regards to the house, bedrooms, bathrooms, furnishings and cleanliness together with those relating to the high quality and presentation of breakfasts. Obviously we were also disappointed to read comments which were less positive which affected your stay to which we apologize.



    Since your stay all bedrooms have been double glazed and air conditioned and this has reduced external traffic noise to a minimum. Being centrally located there’s always a possibility the emergency services sirens being sounded, but they do try to keep this to a minimum.



    We were somewhat surprised to read your comments on the amount of noise from the communal areas. Being only a small establishment with only four letting rooms there is very little footfall through the house.



    I apologise that we were unable to greet you personally on arrival, but as a rule Sunday afternoons is our time for relaxation. As you only stayed the one night and most of that time was spent sightseeing coupled with breakfast times being very busy it leaves very little opportunity for conversation. Chestnuts House is renowned for its hospitality and was a finalist the AA’s friendliest landlady of the year

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2012

    We have stayed at Chestnuts several times and it is just perfect , beautiful rooms that are spotless and well equpped, the host is really friendly and helpful and you feel relaxed. Toni has the perfect balance of being helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. The breakfasts are excellent and it is ina good position to walk into Bath. We have stayed elsewhere but this is definitely our favourite. Nothing is too much trouble for Toni.

    Ane and Mark

    Staffordshire

    Room Tip: ask for a superior room
    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AMD075
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2012

    A real gem of a find. Our 4th visit to Toni's beautiful house. Wonderful host, amazing breakfast, beautifully decorated house and rooms, and spotlessly clean. Toni is the perfect host, informative, welcoming and yet makes you feel relaxed and at home.
    Thanks - we will definitely be returning next year once again.

    Room Tip: Each room is beatifully furnished and decorated. Bedding and bath linen is first class.
    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank bernieandiandandy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 March 2012

    A perfect place for an overnight stay in Bath. Easy walking distance into Bath but easy to park. Breakfast was lovely and we had a great night's sleep on very comfortable beds. Owner was very helpful - we would definately stay here again.

    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Angel4286
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews