We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday dinner ”

The Brook Bar & Bistro
Ranked #264 of 603 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

A traditional style Sunday dinner with three people choosing roast beef and one roast pork Quality was ok The Apple crumble for a pudding we something to write home about Left you wanting more The restaurant has an excellent ambiance Staff are professional polite and very efficient Will return again!!

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at The Brook Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that the team looked after you! Come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Despite the pretty setting, we left this place feeling pretty underwhelmed. All-round lack of warmth from the staff, we had to give the waitress a nudge to serve us, and ended up waiting for over an hour for our food (dread to think how long it would have taken if they'd been serving more than 10 people). Except the trusty fish and chips, the grub ended up being a let down too - particularly the sandwiches which were mostly just dry slabs of toast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDenhamator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at The Brook Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you had a poor experience. In future please do raise your concerns while on site so that we can rectify it for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We sat down at 1.00 and got our lunch at 2.00. We ordered a super salad which was five ingredients short, the extra chicken was tough and charred. No explanation was given. This was quite the worst meal we had ver been served. We were a table of five and the restaurant was empty.

Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at The Brook Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience in The Brook Bar & Bistro. I can confirm that your salads were not five ingredients short, it was just the asparagus and green beans that we served separate for you. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the chicken and that you found it tough, this will be fed back to the head chef. The super food salad has been one of our best sellers this summer so we hope you will return to give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I live in Bath and didn't know this restaurant existed - so pleased a friend introduced me to it! Very nice décor, stylish, clean, well-furnished with a friendly atmosphere - a good feel to the restaurant as soon as you walk in - even before that as the landscaping and gardens are beautiful. Service by Laura and Lauren was relaxed but efficient and friendly. Food was excellent in every way - delicious roast beef, beautifully cooked veg (and a good variety), and a large (but very light) Yorkshire pudding with fluffy roast potatoes and gravy. All delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindyfrombath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at The Brook Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit! Laura and Lauren will be delighted to hear your comments and the whole team look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We were staying in one of the lodges and enjoyed a very good meal at the Bistro which had a reasonably wide selection of dishes on the menu. We both opted for fish (sea bass) which was really excellent. No complaints over the service which was good. The setting of the Bistro is lovely; you can sit outside and have a drink/meal alongside the river. However, there is a but, which is on ordering a glass of wine I asked for sauvignon blanc and was advised it was no longer available by the glass only Pinot Grigio, or White Rioja, which is an odd choice. I didn't want either and had been drinking Sauvignon at a function at the lodge the day before but the policy had (apparently) changed and I could not buy a glass. I felt sorry for the barman who had to deal with my obvious irritation at not being able to buy a glass of this very popular wine which is sold everywhere in the world except the lodge! I have no idea what prompted management to introduce this policy but it finds no favour here. The only option is to buy a bottle which is hardly fair.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at The Brook Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following a recent visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and found there to be a nice selection of dishes on our summer menu. The front of house team will also be happy to hear that you felt well looked after. With regards to your comment about our wine list, I can only apologise that you hoped for a glass of Sauvignon Blanc. Its replacement, our newly introduced White Rioja is a crisp and fresh white which is perfect for the summer season and has proven to be extremely popular. The team at The Brook Bar & Bistro do hope that this will not prevent you from coming back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brook Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Brook Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing