We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
325
41
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
41
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barswimming poolcountry housetea and cakestair liftdrawing roombeautiful housegothic stylebar roomwashing machineevery afternoonbeautiful furnitureextensive groundsspring roomhonor barlovely groundspublic rooms
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Beryl Country House is quiet simply the best place I have stayed in the UK. I visited for a long weekend with my elderly parents and the whole experience from start to finish was truly wonderful.The house is in a beautiful setting with fantastic views across Wells and we were warmly welcomed on arrival with delicious tea and homemade cake.The rooms were warm,beautifully furnished and well equipped.Breakfast was amazing with a fantastic choice of buffet and freshly prepared locally produced products.Every member of staff we came across was cheerful and happy to help which all contributed to a truly fantastic stay.Thank you everyone (not forgetting Willow the cat)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie123Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really appriciate it. We thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome you again in the future. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Beryl Country House just before we headed to Glastonbury Festival. What a treat it was for us!
We received a very warm welcome, a tour and spent a very comfortable evening in a very quaint and classically British room.
Breakfast was unbelievable the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble, tea was served out of china cups and the food was delicious.
The room was filled with visitors from all over the world. We loved it and will be back!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a great time at the festival. Happy New Year. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in January as a birthday treat for my mum. And what a treat it was. We received a genuinely warm welcome from all the staff which set the tone for our whole stay. This B and B is more like a country house hotel with 3 beautiful reception rooms downstairs for guests to use. It is a world away from corporate chain hotels and is full of individual and unique furniture and touches. It really felt like we were at a house party and we felt totally at home. We particularly enjoyed sitting in front of the fire in the snug where there is a fully stocked honesty bar to enjoy.
The grounds are beautiful with sheep grazing in fields behind, adding to the feeling of calm and tranquility. Our room was enormous and beautifully decorated with comfy beds and a clean, modern bathroom. We enjoyed homemade cake and tea when we arrived and a delicious breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank readinmumofthreeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you again one day. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Beryl is so much more than just a B&B, it's a rare opportunity to truly step back in time!

We visited this summer on our way home from a holiday in Dartmouth. The house and location around Wells is truly superb and our room was quaint but very nicely decorated and very clean.

When we arrived there was free tea and coffee with delicious cakes to help yourself to, which we had in the sunshine in the garden, quite idyllic. An honesty bar was in operation in the evening that worked really well.

The breakfast the following morning was delicious too. You pay quite a lot for staying here, but it's worth every penny. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank UncleQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team, they work very hard to maintain high standards so your comments will be a lovely boost for them. We all wiish you a healthy, happy and successful New Year, and hope you will return soon, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

This is my second pre-Christmas trip to Beryl and it was just as wonderful this time as last. The family have created a perfect balance between B&B and family home.
Each of the reception rooms are exquisitely decorated and impressively clean considering the age and delicacy of the decoration and furnishings. The cozy lounge with its honesty bar is a particular treat.
Beryl is quite a distance on foot from Wells but by car it is convenient for all the local tourist spots. It has a very particular atmosphere, very English country house perfect for a gentle quiet break with a good book and a couple of G&Ts.
The breakfast is extensive and to a very high quality.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mrs Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Apologies for our delayed reply. Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to write a review.
We hope to welcome you again in the future. Happy New Year! With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews