We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Wine House

The Wine House
Ranked #25 of 162 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Winehouse is a family established, grade II listed building situated in the beautifully, historical city of Lichfield. Serving fresh food daily, from our local suppliers. Specially known for our wide range of wines, supplied by Worth Brothers Wines only 350 yards from our restaurant. We offer our A La Carte menu, along side our reputable Bottomless Lunch, offering a 3 course menu, accompanied with unlimited cocktails and prosecco! Whether your looking for a family meal, friendly get together or a romantic experience, our restaurant holds something for everybody. We also have our sister restaurants, The Trooper at Wall, Hoofbeats in Brownhills, and our new venture heading to the financial district of Birmingham, soon to be announced!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed . Asked for the rib eye steak but with thick chips not french fries was told chef would not like this even though on the menu french fries were 50p more than the thick chips on the sides menu finally agreed to allow , paid 13.00 for the scallop starter over priced . Asked for the rib eyed steak to be med rare but came well done did not complain as by the time I would have received another my wife would have finished her meal . The couple who sat next to us he sent his meal back .
Have eaten at this restaurant many times over the years but this was by far the worst experience .

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank martint2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely food and place, our waitress Katie was really really good, very helpful and attentive. When our glasses were low she would ask if we needed more drinks without having to ask, excellent service.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank A926XGmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an afternoon! Went down to the Wine House with my girlfriend for a very special birthday.

I have to say we were treated like royalty. Not only was there never a point where our prosecco bottle was empty and the cocktails were on point! but the birthday shots were a great touch.

The 3 course food options on the bottomless lunch were amazing and such a great selection to choose from, our steaks were cooked to perfection!

Will definitely be going back and thank you everyone at the Wine House for making this day even special!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Meander19662639354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just a quick visit, nice decor and would visit again. We hadn't booked but staff were able to sit us at the bar for a quick pint. Asahi beer draught which is rare around these parts. Only one negative, a glass was smashed at the bar accidentally by member of the bar staff, some of the glass hit my cousins arm. Bar staff ignored it, we didn't make a big deal out of it, but personally I would have appreciated a quick sorry. Just a bit of customer service makes you feel welcome and a valued guest. I would still like to visit again and just being honest.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Singh370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2021 via mobile

I came with a friend to celebrate her birthday and we had the bottomless lunch. We were greeted immediately on our arrival which was a good start and also had the menu explained and offered our first drink but after this drink it was very slow for the waitresses to ask if we would like another and once they had taken our drinks orders the drinks were very slow to arrive.

The food was lovely though and really well presented, it was a shame about the slow service with drinks seeing as it was a bottomless lunch! I wouldn’t be so quick to return here.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank lucykitchhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine House also viewed

Wall, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.