We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, atmosphere and service”

The Travellers Rest
Ranked #26 of 557 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called on a Wednesday lunch. I had salmon and my partner cod and chips. Service and food both excellent. Not over busy just a nice amount of customers in.
Definately will be going back x

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Paberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at Travellers Rest with a warm greeting from staff. We sat on the front with a fantastic view of the city and the staff were more than helpful. The food was impeccable, staff checked on us to see if the food was OK, it was delicious. The desserts were catered to perfection especially the chocolate brownie.
We felt so relaxed and at home we didn't want to leave. 5* rating all round.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank katrinar991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

We have just returned from our second stay with family at Steve's fabulous cottages. Weather was truly awful for May but the friendly welcome from Steve, his team and the locals was as usual second to none. Lots of nearby venues closed for outside dining but unlike the weather The food and hospitality at The Travellers Rest did not let us down. The cottages are so clean, modern and cosy with excellent covid safety measures in place. Thank you all so much, we will be back again...soon !

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 220kirstyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Wow the Sunday lunch here is amazing
The roast potatoes are too die for
You have to book as it gets really busy

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank robertp612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020 via mobile

Ate here as quite local to us. Covid measures were excellent and felt safe. Staff were great.

No Track and Trace code though.

Ordered 2 steak pies and home cooked chips. The pie came as a slice, chips looked like they were out of a bag, ready gravy. Presented well but very average food.

Don’t think we will return, better food elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2020
3  Thank louby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
339steveb, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2020

Thank you for your comments. We would like to point out that we adhere to government guidelines at all times and have always used an efficient Track & Trace system. We have both Eve Pass and the NHS tracking systems in use. Regarding your comments on the food, we cannot comment as you have not provided the date and time of your visit and cannot check our records to see if you made any comment at the time. If you didn't comment on your visit about the quality of your food, why not?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Travellers Rest also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.