We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Final concert of 2018 Aldeburgh Festival featuring Sir Bryn Terfel”
Review of Snape Maltings

Snape Maltings
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Snape Maltings is a place of energy and inspiration – a visitor destination of outstanding natural beauty and one of the world’s leading centres of music, founded by Suffolk-born composer Benjamin Britten. Visit this remarkable collection of redeveloped Victorian industrial buildings for world-class concerts and events, distinctive independent shops, cafes, galleries, walks and abundant wildlife, all set against a breathtaking expanse of reeds, water and sky.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Snape Maltings is a wonderful venue with tremendous acoustics. There are lots of craft shops and restaurants on the complex so it was easy to have a pre-concert meal. The performance was great; he has an amazing voice. The surroundings are lovely with local river walks and statues in the grounds.

Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you again: our website has full details of our Concert Hall performances and exhibitions. Also we offer a range of luxury self-catering holiday properties on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"concert hall"
in 110 reviews
"food hall"
in 28 reviews
"art galleries"
in 17 reviews
"music venue"
in 9 reviews
"reed beds"
in 21 reviews
"craft shops"
in 15 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 11 reviews
"great shopping"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 38 reviews
"farmers market"
in 16 reviews
"walk along the river"
in 10 reviews
"wonderful concert"
in 8 reviews
"retail outlets"
in 6 reviews
"garden shop"
in 7 reviews
"few hours"
in 25 reviews
"christmas shopping"
in 7 reviews
"river trip"
in 9 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The maltings themselves are a mixture of 'art galleries', 'Music venues' and 'boutique shops'. There is also a food hall, cafes and a pub on site .... but by far the best is the open walks across the Suffolk fenland behind. We had a lovely sunny day and could enjoy walking along the Alde watching for wildlife.

Visits for music concerts would need to be pre-booked.

Thank Chris_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our full programme of events at the Concert Hall and on site are on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Basically an old factory of sorts with different spaces devoted to arts, crafts, restaurants.

It was quite fun to wander around though it’s probably more fun if you’re there for an exhibition or something. The restaurants seemed to be doing a brisk trade. We had a coffee in one of them and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Worth a visit if you’re in the area...

Thank PV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again; details of all our concerts and exhibitions are on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff unwelcoming, visitor centre where staff are so untrained they even think there are TWO Hentry Moore bronzes on site instead of one Hentry Moore. and one Barbara Hepworth, no bins for dog waste so evidence irresponsible owners hadn't bothered picking up, cheese ploughmans with very little cheese in comparison to two huge wedges of bread, side salad with one meagre slice of tomato and cucumber and a beautiful walk with no seats for the elderly or those who would like to take in the view. Add to this the unhelpful signage and it will come as no surprise this is not a place I would recommend or revisit.

Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your visit to Snape Maltings where there is indeed a renowned Henry Moore (but nothing by Hentry Moore).

There are dog waste bins both by the pond and by the paddock. Additionally our Maintenance team work hard to ensure the site is kept to a high standard.

Within the boundary of our site we provide generous outdoor seating with stunning views. However, the river walks are the responsibility of adjoining landowners, including Suffolk Coasts and Heaths who do provide seating at some viewpoints.

Signage is restricted on our uniquely beautiful site by our Listed Buildings status. Therefore we provide site maps/leaflets at till points and in the Visitor Centre which direct visitors to the many things there are to enjoy here.

Our Tea Shop have recently updated their menu to include a wider choice of Ploughman’s lunches. While I am not aware of any other complaints (quite the opposite!) I am sure that had you mentioned your disappointment at the time staff would have done their best to ensure that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place to come and browse in the lovely little shops,and then afterwards go for lunch at the pub or there are a couple of nice cafes.I believe there are some nice walks from there as well.

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snape Maltings also viewed

 
Saxmundham, Suffolk
Thorpeness, Suffolk
 

Been to Snape Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing