We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok visit. ”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

The staff were very helpful, and the valet parking is a nice touch.
The room was a little frayed around the edges.
Breakfast in our room was delivered on time and very tasty.
Good base for sightseeing.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank ttloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear ttloo,

Thank you for your review.

The hotel is an excellent base for exploring both Bury St Edmunds and the local area with some really interesting places to visit.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and found the Porter Team helpful with Car Parking, they do offer a fantastic service.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and couldn't recommend highly enough.
The staff were really welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The valet carried our bags to our room, the receptionist was friendly and explained everything we needed to know.
The room itself was well decorated and comfortable.
We went down to the cocktail bar in the evening and again the staff were friendly and couldn't have been more friendly.
After reading some of the reviews we weren't convinced what the hotel was going to be like but we couldn't be more impressed.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abbie3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Abbie3110,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay. I will make sure your kind words are passed onto the staff and hopefully, we'll see you again soon at the hotel,

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

The level of service is fantastic. Staff are friendly and accommodating. They gladly and enthusiastically welcome dogs. Your dog gets a bowl and a toy. The rooms for dogs are very clean (just as any other guest would have). While dogs are not allowed in the restaurant, dogs are allowed in the lounge and the restaurant staff gladly bring food to you in the lounge. There are awesome walks (both short and long walks) for dogs and humans just out the front door of the hotel. My dog was on medication during my visit and the porters gladly brought me small pieces of meat to hide the dog’s tablets in. A superior place for folks that travel with dogs! A bit pricy but worth every penny.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank jthelwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Hello jthelwell,

Thank you for your kind review.

I'm so pleased you all had a good stay with us and you found our staff friendly and accommodating. We also, as you mentioned, have some fantastic walks close by which makes us ideally suited to Dog owners.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Stayed overnight as a treat for our 5th anniversary - very welcoming and helpful reception staff...who congratulated us on our anniversary (without us mentioning it) - a simple thing but you would be amazed at how many hotels that know you are staying because of a special occasion, cant be bothered to take the time to mention it. Lovely big room (one of the suites on the first floor) with a congratulatory card and two sticks of rock on the bed which was a lovely touch. The valet parkers were excellent, coming out to help us with our bags up to the room and explaining how the valet parking works - not always obvious in some hotels. We went into the lounge for afternoon tea and were served promptly by a very friendly member of staff (sorry, I cant remember his name) and enjoyed a couple of drinks in the Wingspan bar - even though it was quite busy we were served pretty quickly by very knowledgeable bar staff.

The only criticism that echoes what a number people on here have said is that the bedrooms need a lot of love and attention to bring it up to genuine 4 star standards. Lots of scuffs and marks on the walls, chipped paint, stains on the carpets and a mattress that has a very pronounced sag in it!

That aside, I would recommend the Angel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndenDawn2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear LyndenDawn2103,

Many thanks for your review and kind words about the staff. I'm pleased they stood out during your stay and I will make sure your compliments are passed onto them.

From the room description you mentioned, you stayed in one of our Ivy View Suites which have fantastic views over the Georgian Square and Abbey but are more traditional in style and feel. Can I recommend that the next time you stay, you try one of our new Contemporary Suites, as these offer the same views but are more modern in decor.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Checked in 30th November for 2 nights room In need off decoration and upgrading.Base of bed needed a valance to cover all the stains not a good look very of putting to sleep in . Bathroom scratches on toilet seat mould round bath ,all walls need painting carpet has stains on it . On Friday evening bar staff did not no what they were doing asked for a jack Daniels & coke which I had 2hours previously said they don’t sell it strange . I had a cocktail Thursday evening in lounge I was told I had to go down stairs to bar on Friday for cocktails they don’t sell them Upstaires and they had run out of Bacardi very disappointing it is not a 4 Star hotel could be best location in bury st Edmunds

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Louise L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.

As a 4 star hotel, we pride ourselves with offering the finest ingredients for our Food and Beverage, including spirits. As you mentioned we don't stock either Jack Daniels or Bacardi, however I understand you were offered both Makers Mark and Havana 3 Year as more superior products.

Kind regards,
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
545 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
537 reviews
37.2 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
229 reviews
3.6 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
318 reviews
4.7 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: $173 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing