We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Chantry Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuddenham Mill(Tuddenham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
529
430
197
86
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
430
197
86
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswingspan barcopper bathcharles dickenscellar barabbey gardenssister hotelparked our carsuffolk grilllovely hotelafternoon tealounge areathe ground floorcentral locationstayed here for one nightlovely roomfour poster bedcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Stayed a couple of nights immediately before Christmas, so it was tastefully decorated and had a great atmosphere. Our request for a high floor got us a second floor room overlooking the Abbey Gardens gatehouse and the square, also decorated-up for Christmas. The (standard) room was big and comfortable with a bright, modern bathroom. We had booked for dinner both nights, which was fortunate, as it was very busy. The food was very good and nicely presented, with friendly, attentive service. Breakfast was also good and plentiful. This was our fourth stay at the Angel in 4 years, although a first for Christmastime, and it never disappoints.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have interesting views
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear bigal257,

Thank you for your review.

I was really pleased to read your comments and that you enjoyed your time with us. The Restaurant does tend to get busy especially on weekends, so we do always recommend booking.

Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

My wife and I stayed one night to attend a local industry event. The hotel has quite a boutique feel and we enjoyed much debate, and I learnt a lot, about colour combinations.
The important point of note was a team of staff (particularly the porter) who just seemed to know what to do and cared about the service.
We're definitely going to try out the sister hotel in Ipswich.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Richard T,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I will make sure your comments regarding the staff are passed on as I know they will be pleased to read them. They work really hard to ensure guests enjoy their time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The room was badly in need of redecoration and new furniture. The carpet was stained and threadbare, the bed was worn and faded, the paper and paint was old, cracked and peeling and the windows were dirty and painted over. For some strange reason the bedside lamps could only be switched on with the overhead spotlights so it was either blackout or floodlight.
The room advertised to look over the Abbey gardens ( which indicates peace and a nice view ) actually overlooked a busy public car park and road and you could just glimpse greenery above the walls to the gardens.
We were very tired on arrival after our journey ( I have a chronic illness ) so sadly did not complain. We couldn’t be bothered with potential unpleasantness.
When we complained on checkout we were told by the on duty manageress that she was aware that the room was in need of a refurb and it was due to be done and that was reflected in the rates!
We advised her that a) we had not been advised that the room was substandard and would not have booked it and b) the rate was not cheap @£200 full price ( we had used their quarters offer)
After some wrangling we were offered a further discount but it did not compensate us for the spoiling of what should have been a special break.
Lunch was Ok but the service in the restaurant and at the reception was very slow and lacking in helpfulness or warmth with the exception of the man who carried bags and parked the cars.
The cellar bar was cold, dark and deserted when we visited so we didn’t drink there.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rosiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear rosiliz,

Thank you for your comments.

The room that you booked was an Ivy View Suite which is advertised as a traditionally decorated room. We have a wide variety rooms at the hotel in different styles from a traditional style through to ultra modern rooms which are very contemporary in styling. These are designed to suit the wide variety of guests that come and stay with us.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night for dinner, bed and breakfast. Food was first class and we did indulge in a suite with a freestanding tin bath which was lovely. The room felt a little pricey for the location to be honest but the food in the restaurant was superb although it did lack a bit of atmosphere. The downstairs bar wasn’t open on a Sunday evening although you could get a drink after dinner in the lounge area. Overall a nice stay but not sure we’d spend the money on the same again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marlborough L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Marlborough L,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and room that you booked. We find the suites with the Copper Bath's in are really popular.

Hopefully, we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Stayed at The Angel for 3 nights recently and was really impressed with the hotel, rooms and public areas.
Only down side was the breakfast service. We had to be in the restaurant as they opened at 07:00 and we were all unimpressed with the service and quality of the items we received. The Suffolk Grill was described as the best Suffolk could produce. The photo tells it's own story.
The bacon sandwich we had the day before was 2 slices of dry white bread and 2 pieces of over done bacon. Very poor.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGroup, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Mark A,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was pleased to read that you were impressed with the hotel and facilities following your recent stay and I have passed on your comments with regards to breakfast.

Kind regards,
The Angel Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews